Ford Forums banner

Budget Build-up. Please help!

3K views 12 replies 8 participants last post by  MadMax 
#1 ·
Hello! Newbie here.

A good friend of mine is looking to get his XR8 up to speed. It’s an EB XR8 with some goodies he installed last year

*Trick Flow Heads. Ported & Assembled By Ben Gatt.(Super Flow Heads)
*Intake = GT40 (The better one, I believe)?
*Cam = SVO F303.
*Exhaust Duel 2.5" S/S with Pacemaker tri wires.
*T/C 2,400 rpm Dominator
*Diff Nodular Iron Detroit Locker with 3.89.

Well, he did all this and it ran a best time of 14.5 @ 97mph. It takes a week to get to the 60' marker and then it gets going. Oh well! It’s only a stock bottom end.

What is a good & strong “Stroked” rotating assembly for this engine? Budget priced, please. Any other budget tips would also be appreciated.

Thanks

Peter

See less See more
#2 ·
Welcome to the boards Peter! Good to see another migrant (or vacationer if you prefer) from the Dark Side :s6: (I'm ELXR8 on LS1.com, for reference sake!)

Not sure I can help you out with a strong and cheap bottom end freshen up.. I have yet to come across such a thing! :dead: There are plenty of great stroker buildups that can be done for less $$ if you can do a lot of the work yourself, or with help from mates in the know. Don't settle for a second rate crank, they are notorious for short lifespans and big $$$ in fixes.

Perhaps some of the already-stroked lads can step in here with some particular names / specs? :s6:

#5 ·
Plan B said:
Hello! Newbie here.

A good friend of mine is looking to get his XR8 up to speed. It’s an EB XR8 with some goodies he installed last year

*Trick Flow Heads. Ported & Assembled By Ben Gatt.(Super Flow Heads)
*Intake = GT40 (The better one, I believe)?
*Cam = SVO F303.
*Exhaust Duel 2.5" S/S with Pacemaker tri wires.
*T/C 2,400 rpm Dominator
*Diff Nodular Iron Detroit Locker with 3.89.