Ford Forums banner

2006 Mercury Grand marquis unintended acceleration?

10K views 10 replies 5 participants last post by  buzzbomb1 
#1 ·
My wife was out driving our 06 mercury GM today and she stepped on the gas lightly and the car took off!. She pushed the brakes with both feet and the antilock was running and it still wanted to go. She switched off the key and called me right away pretty shook up as she just missed rear ending a car. I arrived and checked out the car and could find nothing wrong with it and drove it home almost 40 miles using the cruise and putting it to the floor and the accelerator cable worked smooth so it was not that. I am a retired mechanic so i know my way around and was wondering did ford have any pcm problems with the 2006 grand marquis as i can think of nothing else that would cause this problem. She never uses the cruise.-Thank you all in advance

#4 ·
THIS ISN'T GOOD!
I have just bought a used 2006 Marquis, I too noticed it does not have a cable. Thursday I punched it kinda hard, not to the floor, but pretty way in there and all of a sudden when I let off the pedal, it kept going faster and faster up to 83 mph. I too pressed on the brakes and finally was going to kill the ignition when it finally started to slow down. Luckly it was 5 am on the highway and very little traffic. I think there is a problem here! I dont know if this is the first year that they started to use this type of throttle, but some is going to get hurt and Ford has to answer to that. I think I'm gong to report this incident! since it happend to you also. Does anyone know where to start?

#5 ·