a couple 86 Crown Vic questions - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Crown Victoria | Mercury Marauder | Grand Marquis | P71
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

Ford Crown Victoria | Mercury Marauder | Grand Marquis | P71 Forum for discussion of the Ford Crown Victoria, Mercury Marauder, Mercury Grand Marquis and P71.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2008, 07:48   #1 (permalink)

a couple 86 Crown Vic questions

Hi, I have owned my Crown Vic LTD for 4 years now and it is the first car I have owned that is newer than 1977. I'm a little new to smog related pollution attachments. My Vic has a 5.0 with AOD Tranny. It runs great other than it doesn't do much went I stomp on the gas or climb hills, Especially in overdrive and these are mainly gradual up hill climbs on the freeway. But I still get around 20 to 23 mpg on the highway. Here's my questions...

1. When climbing hills on the freeway or going past the halfway point of acceleration (when I have no power). Hot air comes out of all the vents. When I back off and the car cruises with little acceleration it stops pumping hot air. It doesn't matter what the thermo controls are set at. I was thinking it might have to do with the exhaust (or lack there of) or O2 sensors? My exhaust consists of 2 Cat Converters the y pipe that brings it into a single exhaust and about 2 inches of pipe after that. No Muffler or pipe out the back it just stops under the front seats. Any ideas where this hot air comes from?