Digital Instrument Cluster - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Crown Victoria | Mercury Marauder | Grand Marquis | P71 Forum for discussion of the Ford Crown Victoria, Mercury Marauder, Mercury Grand Marquis and P71.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-10-09, 03:16 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 7
Digital Instrument Cluster

Hello everyone,

This is my first post. I just purchased a used, one owner 1999 Mercury Grand Marquis LS with 80K for $1800. The A/C is not working.

My question is this: I noticed that there was an optional digital instrument cluster for the gauges (speedo, fuel, etc.) in the dash board. The MGM that I bought comes with the standard one. Is there any way to possibly purchase a digital instrument cluster (maybe from a provider, website, dealer, or junkyard) and replace the standard gauge cluster. I used to own a T-bird with a digital gauge and really thought it added a certain aspect of class to the car.

Thanks for the help.

Mank

TaxiMank is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-11-09, 10:17 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 7
Re: Digital Instrument Cluster

Sorry to double post... If no one knows the answer to the question as to whether the instrument cluster can be replaced with the digital one, does anyone know where I could purchase the digital instrument cluster?

Thank you.

Mank
TaxiMank is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-11-09, 10:48 AM
2002 F150 XLT
 
Bert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 10,340
Re: Digital Instrument Cluster

No problem with the double post. I myself don't know if it will work but if you want get used parts, here's a great way to search. Car-Part.com--Used Auto Parts Market
Bert is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-11-09, 04:22 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 7
Re: Digital Instrument Cluster

Thank you. I will look into it.

Mank
TaxiMank is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-13-09, 11:53 AM
Harder
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: B.c
Age: 34
Posts: 23
Re: Digital Instrument Cluster

Good luck but I don"t think you can simply switch it out. I'm doing a 5.0 swap into my 91 Cougar from a doner Cougar. Doner has dial gauge, my car has digital. After I swap engine/computer/ wiring harness I fear my digi dash won't work with the dial cars computer. I proceded to pull both clusters. Even though I wished really hard, the plug in at the back was different, which I knew better any way. Still one can hope. Even if the plug in was the same, I doubt highly the computer would support a dial dash.
Cat in Canada is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-13-09, 03:57 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 7
Re: Digital Instrument Cluster

I am going to call a dealership to verify. Thanks for the help.

Mank
TaxiMank is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Crown Victoria | Mercury Marauder | Grand Marquis | P71


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome