Good place to run wires through firewall? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Crown Victoria | Mercury Marauder | Grand Marquis | P71 Forum for discussion of the Ford Crown Victoria, Mercury Marauder, Mercury Grand Marquis and P71.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-15-12, 03:23 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 72
Good place to run wires through firewall?

Hey guys I need to run a few wires through the firewall to the battery on the drivers side. IS there an existing hole or grommet that works good on these cars to use for this? It is a 2005, thanks.
lt1tyrell is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-15-12, 04:30 PM
2002 F150 XLT
 
Bert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 10,283
Re: Good place to run wires through firewall?

When we run wires through for Police equipment, we drill a hole below and to the left of the main harness on the passengers side. How large are the wires you're planning on running?

Bert
Bert is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-15-12, 08:53 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 72
Re: Good place to run wires through firewall?

I just need to get 2 14 gauge wires through that are inside the same jacket, they are for a trailer brake controller so it would be easiest to go through driver side as possible, I will be taking a better look at it in the morning.
lt1tyrell is offline  
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-15-12, 09:19 PM
2002 F150 XLT
 
Bert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 10,283
Re: Good place to run wires through firewall?

The boot for the hood release should work.

Bert
Bert is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-16-12, 07:22 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 72
Re: Good place to run wires through firewall?

thanks!
lt1tyrell is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-16-12, 08:18 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 72
Re: Good place to run wires through firewall?

One more question about installing trailer light wiring...I installed a little u haul kit a while back for trailer lights. It was just the little black box and then you simply splice into the tail light wiring with those little wire taps. I have done some reading and it seems these cars can have problems with the Lighting Control Module if trailer wiring is installed. Have you ever seen this? Is there a better way to do it? Thanks
lt1tyrell is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-16-12, 09:09 AM
2002 F150 XLT
 
Bert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 10,283
Re: Good place to run wires through firewall?

We've never installed trailer wiring on our fleet. I'd check with U-Haul and see if their device will handle that. Some units have circuits inside that control the circuit so that doesn't cause a problem.

Bert
Bert is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Crown Victoria | Mercury Marauder | Grand Marquis | P71
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome