Hardwire Radar Detector? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Crown Victoria | Mercury Marauder | Grand Marquis | P71 Forum for discussion of the Ford Crown Victoria, Mercury Marauder, Mercury Grand Marquis and P71.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 08-26-09, 09:55 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7
Hardwire Radar Detector?

Has anyone here done this? Where did you tap the power? I have an '01 GM.

Thanks

abefroman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 08-27-09, 06:01 PM
Bronco Guru
 
Steve83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Memphis, TN, USA 38135
Posts: 330
Re: Hardwire Radar Detector?

I pulled a new wire up from the fuse block, tapped off the radio switched power. Just make sure your radar detector actually uses 12V. Some older ones had an adapter that put out 9V.
Steve83 is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 09-01-09, 03:29 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7
Re: Hardwire Radar Detector?

I ended up just tapping into the cig lighter power
abefroman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Crown Victoria | Mercury Marauder | Grand Marquis | P71
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome