Old versus New?? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Crown Victoria | Mercury Marauder | Grand Marquis | P71
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

Ford Crown Victoria | Mercury Marauder | Grand Marquis | P71 Forum for discussion of the Ford Crown Victoria, Mercury Marauder, Mercury Grand Marquis and P71.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2001, 13:45   #1 (permalink)
Crown Victoria Member

I have a 93 CV...looking at two options...an older restored model (Sweet car..
white, early 80's....) or a NEW Crown Vic...Money is not the issue...
I am a single professional, so how does an older car compare??
Anyone?
VS
Advertisement

Old 04-23-2001, 14:03   #2 (permalink)
Explorer Member

Victoria,

The older CV's had troubles in a few areas as the got older - the intake gaskets leaked non-stop - and were very difficult to fix - and the also had emissions troubles - they carboned up a lot which would starve the engine for fuel and cause ring and cylinder wall damage - causing them to burn oil and lose compression. Sometimes a sweet old car is a lot of hidden troubles that you may not want to deal with.

The new CV's are the best value for the money! The 4.6 engine has been tested and is very reliable. It's the last of the real full sized rear wheel drive cars. I think you'd love the ride and the room.

Let me know what you choose!

Good luck,
Anne

"Life's too short to drive slow!"
My first name is Anne - was a Ford Dealer Service Manager for 11 years. Waiting for my new Expedition to come in (woo hoo!)
Sweens is offline   Reply With Quote