Strange probs after IAC change - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Crown Victoria | Mercury Marauder | Grand Marquis | P71
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

Ford Crown Victoria | Mercury Marauder | Grand Marquis | P71 Forum for discussion of the Ford Crown Victoria, Mercury Marauder, Mercury Grand Marquis and P71.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2010, 16:58   #1 (permalink)

Strange probs after IAC change

Hi All I'm a Noob to the forum and to all this EFI stuff as a matter of fact

Now here is my big problem I'm Having trouble after changing a faulty IAC valve. I had a problem with idle fluctuating and changing the valve fixed that but now have another problem.
When I start the car it will start normally then after about 30 seconds sometimes more or less I can hear the computer click and the car almost dies (sometimes does) then changes its running, sometimes will rev very high or will start to run very rough (even if I move the revs up it runs roughly) after a while it seems to smooth out most times.
When it is hot if I turn on the ignition and don't start, the fuel pump will run and stop, but then after about 3 seconds I get a click a click at the computer and it runs again.
I have put a new MAF sensor in but after clearing the codes then running at idle for a few minutes it comes up with a 157 code (although each time after about two minutes the engine will stop and need a restart).
I tried to run a cylinder test and the reader came up with a 998 code then just went to continuous buzz.
I did dis-connect the battery after the change.