23 MPG for a 5-speed I would think sucks - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Probe Forum | Mazda MX6 Forum
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

Ford Probe Forum | Mazda MX6 Forum Forum for discussion of the Ford Probe and Mazda MX6.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-17-2001, 16:19   #1 (permalink)
SCPOC/Probe GT Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: san diego
Posts: 71
23 MPG for a 5-speed I would think sucks

I only get about 23 mpg highway, and 21 city. For a 5-speed I
think that's pretty shitty. 3 years ago I could get 28
highway.
I don't get any codes, but my plugs, wires and O2 sensors
are 3 years old. But I don't really think that's a big deal.
If there's no codes, the sensors are fine, right? I do run more
negative camber and toe-out than most people, but not enough to destroy the tires or anything. Also the front brakes do rub a little if you take the wheel and turn it with your hands, because they are warped a little. But I can't
see all that taking away 5 mpg, do you? What do you think, I'm no engine ace. What are the most common causes.
Hans[93GT] is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-17-2001, 20:30   #2 (permalink)
Probe GT Member
 
MacDaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: High Point, NC
Age: 55
Posts: 23
One hypothesis:

As the O2 sensors age, the voltage output drops off ever so slightly. Not enought to light a code, mind you, but enough to make the mixture appear more lean than it actually is. The ECU compensates by enriching the mixture. You lose HP and MPG by running extra rich.

I think this exists on my own Probe; the HP is down, the A/F ratio is extremely rich past 3000 rpm or so, and the MPG stays around 20. New plugs, new wires, new cap, check & reset timing has no effect on (my) milage. But I'm not ready to change the O2's yet.

Good Luck
MacDaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2001, 13:22   #3 (permalink)
SCPOC/Probe GT Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: san diego
Posts: 71
Yeah, I used to be able to get 425 miles on a long trip, now I can only get 350. New wires didn't change this. I do suspect I'm running rich though, because at my last emissions test it was discovered that my hydrocarbon reading was almost over the limit.
Hans[93GT] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2001, 22:10   #4 (permalink)
Probe GT Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: pittsburgh
Age: 33
Posts: 135
i use to get good mileige to!
and i have new highflow cat - new 02's - new air filter[cone] - basically everything that causes problems with gas miliege,

i got bad camber,? does this cause bad gas miliege?
__________________
93 black PGT
fidanza fw - greddy - ngk wires -cm clutch-testpipe-hd intake- 15.004@90.76mph
91PGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2001, 00:27   #5 (permalink)
SCPOC/Probe GT Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: san diego
Posts: 71
maybe.....although I think bad toe would be more of a drag than bad camber....but I don't really know.
Hans[93GT] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2001, 07:56   #6 (permalink)
Probe SE driver
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mobile AL
Posts: 99
Maybe you guys just need to try cleaning your O2's with some carb/choke cleaner.
__________________
~PSE driver
ALPOC Moderator, Co-founder, & Active Member
PSE driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2001, 12:15   #7 (permalink)
Probe GT Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Age: 41
Posts: 11
cool Another theory

It could also be that you have been getting some bad gasoline. Also, in some areas, they use different blends of gasoline depending upon the season. I dunno. But I tell you what, 23mpg is what I get with my ATX and I'm thrilled.
__________________
Signature? We don't need no stinkin' signature!
davecoyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2001, 17:38   #8 (permalink)
SCPOC/Probe GT Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: san diego
Posts: 71
I use the same brand, Chevron Premium, as much as possible. And I've decarboned my engine a couple times. Still I can never achieve the 400-425 miles I used to be able to get 3 years ago.
Hans[93GT] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2001, 20:26   #9 (permalink)
Probe GT Member
 
MacDaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: High Point, NC
Age: 55
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally posted by PSE driver
Maybe you guys just need to try cleaning your O2's with some carb/choke cleaner.
Have you had good luck with this?

I had considered doing just that. I have heard that some cleaners are better than others, and some flat out damage the sensors.

Perhaps you could go into more detail, yes?
MacDaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2001, 07:39   #10 (permalink)
Probe GT Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Age: 41
Posts: 11
Tongue Read the Label :)

Go to your local auto parts store and check out the carb cleaners. The ones that are o2 sensor safe will say as much on the can.
__________________
Signature? We don't need no stinkin' signature!
davecoyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Probe Forum | Mazda MX6 Forum



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Year was 1976 .... russellw The Pub 21 03-15-2003 10:13
3 vs 4 vs 5 speed boxes. AUII_Forte General Tech 15 02-20-2003 00:12
Did EF Futura's come out in a 5 speed??? NAPARM The Pub 6 04-29-2002 20:50
Anyone got a 5 speed Manaul 3.9MPI Dazlin Inline 6 Tech 10 04-04-2002 09:03

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 14:06.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.