93 ford probe wont shift past 2nd - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Probe Forum | Mazda MX6 Forum Forum for discussion of the Ford Probe and Mazda MX6.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-29-13, 07:17 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
93 ford probe wont shift past 2nd

My boys 93 probe gt will not shift out of 2nd(at). He took it to a shop they said it needs replaced. Read there may be a sensor that can cause this is this true. Or do I need to trailer it bring it the 4.5 hours home and replace the trans. The car only has 76xxx on it any help asap would be great. Thanks in advance.

cole.nelson782 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-29-13, 08:56 PM
2002 F150 XLT
 
Bert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 10,340
Re: 93 ford probe wont shift past 2nd

There could be a code stored. Try another shop. Has the fluid been replaced? Is it full and clean looking? That's the same trans in the Mazda 626.

Bert
Bert is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-29-13, 09:57 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
Re: 93 ford probe wont shift past 2nd

Full yes. Clean not 100% on that he lives 4 hours away. I'm wondering if it could be a neutral safety switch?
cole.nelson782 is offline  
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-29-13, 10:07 PM
2002 F150 XLT
 
Bert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 10,340
Re: 93 ford probe wont shift past 2nd

I doubt that. If it goes in the other gears alright.

Bert
Bert is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-30-13, 10:12 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
Re: 93 ford probe wont shift past 2nd

It will only go from first to second and it stays there it won't go up anymore. That going to end up being a tranny?
cole.nelson782 is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-01-13, 06:45 PM
Dazed and Confused
 
CatSkinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 6,091
Re: 93 ford probe wont shift past 2nd

That's sounding tranny.

Ever notice that there's so many high performance parts available for GM products?

Did you ever think that maybe they NEED them?
CatSkinner is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-02-13, 03:34 AM
Moderators
 
R.S.LOGAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 15,150
Re: 93 ford probe wont shift past 2nd

Check the shift cable first , may need adjusting ? Check all wiring / connections on transmission .

1.Disconnect battery ground cable, then remove floor console.
2.Shift selector lever to Park position, then remove position indicator mount.
3.Slide lock cover back, then disconnect set button.
4.Slide selector lever to adjust Park position, then connect set button.
5.Slide lock cover to lock set button in place.
6.Reverse procedure to install. Torque position indicator mounting screws to 17-26 in lbs.
R.S.LOGAN is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-02-13, 06:20 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
Re: 93 ford probe wont shift past 2nd

OK will try that he also told me that his overdrive was working on its own before this problem started could this have lead to where we are now?
cole.nelson782 is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-02-13, 06:25 AM
Moderators
 
R.S.LOGAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 15,150
Re: 93 ford probe wont shift past 2nd

Quote:
Originally Posted by cole.nelson782 View Post
OK will try that he also told me that his overdrive was working on its own before this problem started could this have lead to where we are now?
Might tie in with wiring / connection fault ? Worth a check .
R.S.LOGAN is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-02-13, 10:20 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
Re: 93 ford probe wont shift past 2nd

Rather the replacing/rebuilding yes it is.
cole.nelson782 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Probe Forum | Mazda MX6 Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome