97gts -> 93pgt motor swap....problems? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Probe Forum | Mazda MX6 Forum
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

Ford Probe Forum | Mazda MX6 Forum Forum for discussion of the Ford Probe and Mazda MX6.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2001, 14:49   #1 (permalink)
cre3d
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Question 97gts -> 93pgt motor swap....problems?

Straight motor swap, are there any problems I might run into with this? I need to know asap, gonna be getting the engine this week... Also, anyone know approximately how much it is to rent an engine hoist? Where to rent one? Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-23-2001, 15:24   #2 (permalink)
SOPOC President
 
Pat_SOPOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Ohio University
Age: 38
Posts: 105
they are essentially the same motor. HOWEVER, the 97 was OBDII whereas 93 was OBDI.

You will most likely need a 93-95 ECU and wire harness. Plus, you will have FEWER O2 sensors with the 93. So, you may need to have sections of your exhaust redone.

Just some things to consider.
__________________
Pat
1993 Probe GT
SOPOC President
SOPOC Website
Pat_SOPOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2001, 15:26   #3 (permalink)
SOPOC President
 
Pat_SOPOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Ohio University
Age: 38
Posts: 105
Ok, I see now, you are dropping in the 97 to the 93? Damn, I'm confused! LOL

Well, you get the idea. You'll need the correct year ECU.
__________________
Pat
1993 Probe GT
SOPOC President
SOPOC Website
Pat_SOPOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2001, 16:53   #4 (permalink)
cre3d
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Ok, yea, the 97 motor is going in the 93 car. If i take his ecu then i will need the extra o2 sensors, however if i use mine i will not. That is how i understand it. Is this correct?
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2001, 17:57   #5 (permalink)
Forgotten
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally posted by cre3d
Ok, yea, the 97 motor is going in the 93 car. If i take his ecu then i will need the extra o2 sensors, however if i use mine i will not. That is how i understand it. Is this correct?
Your PCM won't work.
Your '93 computer is OBD-I & the '97 is OBD-II.

You're going to need the PCM that matches the engine (which is OBD-II), or it'll never start because the engine is going to be expecting OBD-II format signals, and the PCM will be sending OBD-I format signals, and vice versa.

The PCM & engine won't be able to communicate, leaving you dead in the water.
__________________
:bs3:
EatMoreCow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2001, 19:12   #6 (permalink)
cre3d
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
pcm... what is it?
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2001, 22:47   #7 (permalink)
SOPOC President
 
Pat_SOPOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Ohio University
Age: 38
Posts: 105
You'll need the ECU (PCM). The Enginge Control Module, or Powertrain Control Module. The 93 ECU WILL NOT work for a 97 motor. At least this is my understanding.
__________________
Pat
1993 Probe GT
SOPOC President
SOPOC Website
Pat_SOPOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2001, 00:42   #8 (permalink)
cre3d
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Are you absolutely positive of that? I need to know for sure, this is very important as he has already sold his ecu... If you are positively sure of this please let me know!
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2001, 12:47   #9 (permalink)
SOPOC President
 
Pat_SOPOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Ohio University
Age: 38
Posts: 105
Well, if it is a DIRECT swap you'll need the ecu.

But, I'm sure there has to be a way to make the 93 ECU work. I know that there are more vacuum lines on one of the intake manifolds. I also know that if the car is a California Emissions car it has some extra doo-dads.

You may need to swap over the 93 IM to the 97 or something like that.

Either way, I'm sure you can MAKE it work.
__________________
Pat
1993 Probe GT
SOPOC President
SOPOC Website
Pat_SOPOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2001, 14:13   #10 (permalink)
poirier
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
the 93 ecu should work fine.

Most of the OBDII stuff has to do with emissions, ie; extra 02 sensors, precats in the exhaust manifolds, etc.
The actual motor itself is almost identical.

Trying to use a 97 ecu on a 93 setup probably wouldnt work.
so as long as you are not trying to swap exhaust manifolds and y-pipes you are going to be fine.
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Probe Forum | Mazda MX6 Forum



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ford's experiences problems with new diesel; 6.0 Power Stroke is important test Stacy94PGT Diesel Tech 0 03-04-2003 06:32
Quality problems bedevil Jaguar's X-Type Stacy94PGT Ford Worldwide News 1 05-29-2002 22:19
Ford blames its suppliers for quality problems, demands improvement Stacy94PGT Ford Worldwide News 0 05-28-2002 09:58
2 New Problems...maybe related Davidoo Ford Probe Forum | Mazda MX6 Forum 7 12-17-2001 19:23

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:12.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.