6 Speed Box - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Fordforums Community > The Pub
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

The Pub For General Discussion

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2005, 16:59   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Victoria
Posts: 84
6 Speed Box

This is a repost of the pic, I have already posted it in another thread... BUT!
Does anyone know if it would fit in the likes of a XB?
I think I need to go and have a look at one in person and see what the size difference is between that and say a C4.
However I can't help but wonder what kind of look Nizpro staff would have on their face if I asked them that question, of if they would reply with a X WHAT ? lol

ford-girl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-09-2005, 01:17   #2 (permalink)
productions
 
boganbusman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: sitting in a chair . . .
Age: 26
Posts: 69
Re: 6 Speed Box

What is it exactly? A T56?
__________________
boganbusman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2005, 07:19   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Victoria
Posts: 84
Re: 6 Speed Box

Yes
ford-girl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2005, 17:08   #4 (permalink)
Experienced Ford Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: geelong
Posts: 1,500
Re: 6 Speed Box

Mal Woods do Tremec conversions for Clevelands so it shouldn't be a problem to fit it. Eric Bana's XB Coupe has a T56 I think.
bossxr8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2005, 17:20   #5 (permalink)
productions
 
boganbusman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: sitting in a chair . . .
Age: 26
Posts: 69
Re: 6 Speed Box

Yeah Mal Woods can do conversions for just about anything.

Here's their phone number: (07) 4661 3548
__________________
boganbusman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2005, 19:28   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Melb
Posts: 119
Re: 6 Speed Box

You would get 6 speeds (and be able to run a low final drive ratio with the overdrives), but also look at the torque rating of the gearbox. The torque rating is a guide to the strength of the gearbox. I don't think that the Tremec's rating is that high compared to a Super T10 or a Top Loader.
REV28K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2005, 20:20   #7 (permalink)
Hardcore Metalhead
 
LoudLS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WV
Posts: 62
Re: 6 Speed Box

The Tremec can handle a well-built LS1 doing 400+ tq to the ground. A built T-56 can handle a hell of a lot more than that. Borg Warner T-56s are even stronger.
__________________
1999 Firebird Formula Trans Am, Mystic Teal, M6
LoudLS1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2005, 03:28   #8 (permalink)
Roll, Crash and Smash
 
Peuty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cleaning up the broken bits...
Posts: 1,748
Re: 6 Speed Box

Quote:
Originally Posted by ford-girl
However I can't help but wonder what kind of look Nizpro staff would have on their face if I asked them that question, of if they would reply with a X WHAT ? lol
Whats Nizpro got to do with anything?
__________________
BACK II BACK


AMBROSE CHAMPION AGAIN IN 2004
Peuty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2005, 16:44   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Ranger04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 280
Re: 6 Speed Box

From what I have seen the T56 can handle a lot. The Tremec is installed in the Viper as stock. Handles 500 hp with 500 lb.-ft of Tq.

Dont think 400 is going to be an issue, unless it is out of a Cobra. They came with 10 spline shafts and not the 26spline that the vipers and GMs have.
Ranger04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2005, 23:21   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: queensland
Posts: 1,134
Re: 6 Speed Box

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ranger04
...Dont think 400 is going to be an issue, unless it is out of a Cobra. They came with 10 spline shafts and not the 26spline that the vipers and GMs have.
We have cars running 480+rwhp with the 10 spline input, no worries.
__________________
If you're not driving a manual you're really just steering.
WBT56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Fordforums Community > The Pub



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
6 speed conversions dodge Trans | Driveline 0 08-13-2004 18:52
6 speed for an 302 EB NoBByxr8 Trans | Driveline 5 12-28-2003 00:56
6 speed rumours brett_32i F6 Typhoon | XR6 Turbo 37 08-11-2003 23:43
3 vs 4 vs 5 speed boxes. AUII_Forte General Tech 15 02-19-2003 23:12
Prob's Holden 6 speed ebxr8240 The Pub 6 11-24-2001 16:07

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:50.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.