Another Telstra rant - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
The Pub For General Discussion

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-19-03, 07:24 PM Thread Starter
Not a Twink
 
honer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Perth, Australia
Age: 34
Posts: 1,086
Another Telstra rant

I move into a new house... I get 28.8k connections, trying my luck I decide to apply for ADSL anyway........ Nope, on a Pair Gain :(

I ring them up and tell them I don't want to be on a Pair Gain as I am paying full price, but only getting half the service..... They offer me "ISDN for 60 cents an hour!"

I ask the operator what year it is. He says its 2003. I say Thankyou I wasn't sure as its been 5 years since people were expected to pay-by-hour.

As I am a computer technician, and I work for an Internet company my job requires me to have a decent link, this is very frustrating ! I will write a letter to TIO and see if they can assist me in anyway (They have a class action against Telstras use of Pair Gain)

honer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-20-03, 02:55 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Age: 52
Posts: 461
while it may be sad that you are on a pgs, the fact remains you are receiving everthing you are paying for,, ie. a voice service, due to the obvious lack of copper you are receiving your VOICE service via a pgs. It could be worse, if there were no pgs you wouldn't have a phone service..... for a laugh ring 1800 111 550, its an internal telstra message, good for a laugh...
Devil CV8 is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-20-03, 11:25 AM
FURICE
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Melb
Posts: 7
I dont like your chances, telstra only has one guarentee and thats that its possible to comminicate by voice. There is no requirement for Telstra to supply any sort of guarenteed data transmission on any PSTN line

Chris
chris84ae is offline  
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-20-03, 08:06 PM
Yeah .... I am here
 
XR8fella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Coffs Harbour NSW
Age: 35
Posts: 751
excuse ones ignorance, whats pair gain ?

His :
Black AU II XR8 Manual Ute
Hers :
XR8fella is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-20-03, 09:58 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Brisbane
Age: 50
Posts: 341
It's a method delivering service to customers without the need to supply copper wires the entire length from the exchange to the house. The term pair gain is very old and dates back to when Telstra(PMG) used to be able to create a third "phantom circuit "from 2 existing copper circuits, hence the term pain gain.

The remote intergrated multiplexor connects to the customers phones via copper and uses digital technology to multiplex many circuits onto one common bearer back to the exchange.

The limitations are with bandwidth supplied to the customer which is fine for voice but not desirable for high speed analog modems. The other disadvantage is because of the lack of copper ADSL cannot be supplied.
cs123 is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-21-03, 05:33 AM
Yeah .... I am here
 
XR8fella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Coffs Harbour NSW
Age: 35
Posts: 751
oh ok , thanks for clearing that up.
Telstra have been telling me for a year, they are reviewing my area to upgrade the exchange for ASDL, and they keep trying to flog ISDN to me as it looks like its gonna be a while. Is ISDN really worth the money ??

His :
Black AU II XR8 Manual Ute
Hers :
XR8fella is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-21-03, 02:09 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Brisbane
Age: 50
Posts: 341
Not really, It will give slightly better performance than a fully working 56K modem, but no where near ADSL. It is 64Kb/s.

The other bad part is that data is charged at an hourly rate.
cs123 is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-21-03, 03:06 PM
Faster than Zyrtec
 
dave_au's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sydney.
Age: 33
Posts: 2,105
What about one of the remote broadband providers, Ihug used to have a satnet setup for their broadband.
dave_au is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-22-03, 03:11 AM
Formerly lowercase :-)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In an enlightened state of mind
Posts: 823
I am assuming you are not in a cable ready street????
MintEAFalcon is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-22-03, 04:25 AM
gone
 
laminge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 10,402
Sorry to hear the news mate, but no working from home for you for a while by the looks of it! :(
laminge is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Fordforums Community > The Pub


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Telstra and XA Coupe.. a mixed story xacoupe The Pub 6 09-03-02 03:11 AM
Begin rant madEAs The Pub 11 05-16-02 09:22 AM
Telstra does it again... Falchoon The Pub 5 02-06-02 08:26 PM
Telstra to hit home internet Falchoon The Pub 19 01-22-02 02:44 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome