att JASE_ELXR8, or any computer genius - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
The Pub For General Discussion

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-06-02, 10:33 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,386
att JASE_ELXR8, or any computer genius

Hey jase,

in a post earlier you mentioned you are/were an engineer for compaq. I have a question regarding my presario 5110 model.

Can i easily upgrade the motherboard and fit a new athlon 1.7 processor in it? These seem quite cheap now(can do the whole upgrade for a little over $300) but i don't want to buy it all and find out that my case is incompatible.

Cheers
Matt

EL driver...
Futura97 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-08-02, 07:36 AM
Shh i'm huntin more power
 
Jase_ELXR8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,764
Mate, can you send me your config code. It's the middle four of your serial number. Pretty sure they just use bastardised clone boards anyway. There's basically two types, ATX and baby ATX one has more expansion ports.
Jase_ELXR8 is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-08-02, 05:54 PM
Shh i'm huntin more power
 
Jase_ELXR8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,764
Ok, you pc has 4 slots so you want to get a mainboard that complies to micro ATX standards and you should be right. You current pc can be upgrade to a 1gb cumine cpu...
Jase_ELXR8 is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-08-02, 09:27 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,386
thanks for that jase..

so a celeron 1ghz would plug staright in?

EL driver...
Futura97 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-09-02, 07:12 AM
Shh i'm huntin more power
 
Jase_ELXR8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,764
yepo, can track down all the info for you when i get time...
Jase_ELXR8 is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-11-02, 06:50 AM
pR()rN_*
 
carazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adelaide,SA Australia
Age: 34
Posts: 1,966
waste of time dude get the upgrade you were looking at and spend an extra 70 on a new case much easier. If your going an athlon make sure it's a 300w power supply.
carazy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Fordforums Community > The Pub


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Driver who ran down officer 'was re-enacting computer game' MrPlow2 The Pub 17 07-23-03 08:48 AM
Problem with EL Trip computer russell Interior | Electrical | ECU 10 08-16-02 03:14 AM
How to wire up a trip computer to an ED? MightyEFGhia Interior | Electrical | ECU 3 08-12-02 06:49 AM
1988 EA Trip Computer Installation rdela Interior | Electrical | ECU 2 06-04-02 02:01 AM
computer jokes HSE2 The Pub 1 01-25-02 12:15 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome