Broadband/ADSL filters and the like. - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Fordforums Community > The Pub
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

The Pub For General Discussion

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-28-2004, 16:47   #1 (permalink)
Moderator
 
Timmeh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Newcastle, NSW
Age: 33
Posts: 2,922
Broadband/ADSL filters and the like.

G'day there!

While I unfortunately don't live there anymore, my parents have installed broadband (iPrimus ADSL) but are still having a hissing in the phone.

The phone line comes into the house, into a filter which splits the line to the ADSL modem/router and the other to the cordless phone.

We have tried different handsets / corded phone and more inline filters but the hissing remains. As soon as the ADSL modem/router is switched off, the hissing remains for about a second then disappears.

I am after any help from anyone with any experience with broadband.

Any help would be much appreciated as I am going to have to repeat this at my own place very soon (good to have ADSL but bad to have hissing phones).

Thanks.. Tim
__________________
EUR04D - Ford Focus
The Blue Flame

Mk II Escort RS2000
How much boost?


www.eurofordclub.com
Thanks for 2004, crew.
Timmeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-28-2004, 17:07   #2 (permalink)
Just give me an excuse...
 
Night_Lurker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: struct melbourne hallam;
Age: 34
Posts: 3,949
Re: Broadband/ADSL filters and the like.

So is it a central filter or is there one on each phone outlet? I honestly have never heard of such a problem. At whirlpool.net.au there is a topic similar

http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum...m?t=229186&p=1

Maybe if you don't have a filter on each phone outlet try that. Goodluck with it and sorry I cannot help with it...
__________________
Truly the deepest kiss one can feel, and the one most sought after, is the one you will not survive....
Night_Lurker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2004, 17:31   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Perana XR8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,492
Re: Broadband/ADSL filters and the like.

Yeah sounds like a filter problem.... every line that isnt connected to the ADSL modem needs to be filtered.
__________________
Ben
Perana XR8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2004, 17:51   #4 (permalink)
Now driving an XF Falcon.
 
The MaDDeSTMaN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Western Suburbs of Melbourne..
Age: 36
Posts: 1,042
Re: Broadband/ADSL filters and the like.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zantetsuken
The phone line comes into the house, into a filter which splits the line to the ADSL modem/router and the other to the cordless phone.
Have you got a filter designed for use with a cordless phone? If not, that could be the problem, from what I understand, if you're going to use a cordless phone on the same line as ADSL, you need a cordless phone filter, which most providers charge extra for instead of the one that most throw in for free, which is fine for normal phones, but not cordless...

Hope that helps mate, good luck!
__________________
1985 Ford XF Falcon GL.
4.1L carby Inline 6 cylinder crossflow engine, 3 speed auto, ZL Fairlane instrument cluster and seats, EA Fairmont 15" alloy wheels...
Coming soon: Extractors and decent exhaust...
The MaDDeSTMaN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2004, 17:59   #5 (permalink)
Moderator
 
Timmeh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Newcastle, NSW
Age: 33
Posts: 2,922
Re: Broadband/ADSL filters and the like.

Thanks for the link, Night_Lurker - that's a great thread and indeed forums. It's gone a long way to helping us.

We definitely have filtered the line and tried many different brands of filters, including multiple filters, double adapters, different handsets/non corded phones.... trouble shooted (trouble shot?) it with Donut_King (3FB Resident IT Extraordinaire) and perused whirlpool and we think it's an exhange problem.

Thanks for your posts!

Reagrds, Tim
__________________
EUR04D - Ford Focus
The Blue Flame

Mk II Escort RS2000
How much boost?


www.eurofordclub.com
Thanks for 2004, crew.
Timmeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2004, 18:12   #6 (permalink)
Just give me an excuse...
 
Night_Lurker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: struct melbourne hallam;
Age: 34
Posts: 3,949
Re: Broadband/ADSL filters and the like.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zantetsuken
Thanks for the link, Night_Lurker - that's a great thread and indeed forums. It's gone a long way to helping us.

We definitely have filtered the line and tried many different brands of filters, including multiple filters, double adapters, different handsets/non corded phones.... trouble shooted (trouble shot?) it with Donut_King (3FB Resident IT Extraordinaire) and perused whirlpool and we think it's an exhange problem.

Thanks for your posts!

Reagrds, Tim
No probs anytime. Just hope it can be fixed ASAP. Although now you have to deal with Tel$tra.
__________________
Truly the deepest kiss one can feel, and the one most sought after, is the one you will not survive....
Night_Lurker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2004, 18:38   #7 (permalink)
Sex on wheels
 
GTPChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: ACT
Posts: 863
cool Re: Broadband/ADSL filters and the like.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zantetsuken
The phone line comes into the house, into a filter which splits the line to the ADSL modem/router and the other to the cordless phone.
Shouldnt the phone line go into the splitter with one cable going to the modem/router and the other to a filter connected to your phone? ie the traffic from the modem/router doesn't pass through the filter?

Filters aren't splitters. You should have a splitter and a filter. You also need to install a filter for each phone in the house.

Phone socket
|
<(splitter)-----(filter)-----(Phone)
\
.\_____(modem/router)----PC
__________________
Merc Silver GT-P. Auto, Leather and Premium Sound.
Blueprint XR6 Turbo. Auto, Premium Sound.

Click here to see full size avatar....

Autos are for lazy drivers
GTPChris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2004, 23:36   #8 (permalink)
Moderator
 
Timmeh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Newcastle, NSW
Age: 33
Posts: 2,922
Re: Broadband/ADSL filters and the like.

You can get splitter filters, which is what we have.

We did try it how you suggested as well, with a pure inline filter (a couple in fact as well) from just a splitter but no success. We tried everything we could on our end.

Thanks for posting that though, good to check all bases!

Tim
__________________
EUR04D - Ford Focus
The Blue Flame

Mk II Escort RS2000
How much boost?


www.eurofordclub.com
Thanks for 2004, crew.
Timmeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2004, 23:39   #9 (permalink)
Sex on wheels
 
GTPChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: ACT
Posts: 863
Re: Broadband/ADSL filters and the like.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zantetsuken
You can get splitter filters, which is what we have.

We did try it how you suggested as well, with a pure inline filter (a couple in fact as well) from just a splitter but no success. We tried everything we could on our end.

Thanks for posting that though, good to check all bases!

Tim
Ah ok. Didnt know you could get a combo splitter/filter. If the noise goes when you switch off the router, sounds like it might be the router itself. What brand/model is it?
__________________
Merc Silver GT-P. Auto, Leather and Premium Sound.
Blueprint XR6 Turbo. Auto, Premium Sound.

Click here to see full size avatar....

Autos are for lazy drivers
GTPChris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2004, 23:48   #10 (permalink)
Moderator
 
Timmeh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Newcastle, NSW
Age: 33
Posts: 2,922
Re: Broadband/ADSL filters and the like.

It's a D-Link DSL-504G modem router. We have tried a friends unit also (different brand) and same problem. In the link Night_Lurker posted there were other people with the same problem, so we'll be barking up the tree they did. Unfortunately that is Telstra.

We've pretty much replaced everything and in every combo here, new phones, new modems, new filters, new lines, so we're out of ideas at this stage.

Hooray for another satisfied Telstra customer! Haha. Thanks for your assistance - too bad we couldn't fix Telstra - some things even FordForums cannot do!

Tim!
__________________
EUR04D - Ford Focus
The Blue Flame

Mk II Escort RS2000
How much boost?


www.eurofordclub.com
Thanks for 2004, crew.
Timmeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Fordforums Community > The Pub



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 19:34.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.