was buying a new barra - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Fordforums Community > The Pub
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

The Pub For General Discussion

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-05-2002, 04:31   #1 (permalink)

was buying a new barra

just found out some bad news about the barra. you can't fit LPG to any model 6 cylinder motor if you want dual fuels. you can have dedicated fuel but not both. i think that sucks as i couldn't go back to another car on petrol after running on gas for 5 years. apparently it will void your warranty if you fit it. glad i told the sales man of my plan as im a LPG installer and could do it my self but the risk of no warranty is to high especially on a brand new model. why do they do this, just so they can sell there own dedicated gas! I can't even get that on a XR6. will have a look into the v8 gas position. although theres not much engine bay room. I was hoping to be happy having just ordered a new car tonight, but now i'm just annoyed and don't know what to do....
harasn is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-05-2002, 04:36   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Ford Member

Firstly it is not so that they can sell their own dedicated gas option.

Secondly this information has been well documented over the last few months along with the technical reasons for it.

Thirdly - I would be surprised if the V8 postition is any different - if there is even a gas option for it.

Russ
russellw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2002, 04:39   #3 (permalink)