Calling all computer people for help! - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Fordforums Community > The Pub
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

The Pub For General Discussion

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2003, 20:45   #1 (permalink)
Chasing 500rwkw
 
DansEdgli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,176
Calling all computer people for help!

My internet wont open links anymore and i dont know why.
For example if i click on a link on the forums to see a picture i have to wait for the new window to come up and then click stop and then refresh for the picture to load. It wont open automatically.
The same happens with links in outlook express i must click stop and then refresh every time. There is even some links that i cant open because there is no buttons at the top.
How can i fix it? Ive tried the settings in internet tools but cant really tell whats what?

Thanks guys
Dan
DansEdgli is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-21-2003, 22:31   #2 (permalink)
Not a Twink
 
honer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Perth, Australia
Age: 32
Posts: 1,086
Seen this before it a couple cases;

1) Virus on the computer, you might want to get a virus scanner (if you don't have one) and if you do make sure its up to date.

2) If no virii are found, re-install Internet Explorer (Ver 6 if you use Windows 98+)

3) As a swing in the dark, go to Tools > Options > Advanced and click "Restore Defaults", then restart Internet Explorer.

Hope this helps.
honer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2003, 23:10   #3 (permalink)
Rail Rider
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Cowra, NSW
Posts: 1,248
Had a similar prob with mine yonks ago. found out I was using a proxy sever to connect to my ISP and it didn't need to. Once disabled all was fine.
__________________
AlbertM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2003, 23:42   #4 (permalink)
Australian Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Sydney, NSW
Age: 38
Posts: 255
are you running a fire wall??
if not
try
tools === internet options ==== privacy ==== restore,
this will reset your cookie, etc to medium.,
Black S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2003, 04:24   #5 (permalink)
Formerly lowercase :-)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In an enlightened state of mind
Posts: 823
While you are at it, grab a copy of Ad-aware from Lavasoft (http://www.lavasoftusa.com/downloads.html) and run that on your machine. Spyware can be a bit of a nusance to Internet Explorer.

You'd be surprised what crap lurks on your machine that has been downloaded without you even knowing!
MintEAFalcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2003, 05:32   #6 (permalink)
Busdriver
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Yep, the proxy is the most likely cause - check in your Internet Options that proxies is disabled and that the Auto Configuration settings is checked. Don't use manual configuration for most servers these days.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2003, 06:13   #7 (permalink)
pR()rN_*
 
carazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adelaide,SA Australia
Age: 32
Posts: 1,966
If you called me at work I'd be saying.
Clear cache, clear cookies, reset defaults (advanced options)
remove proxys from both the lan settings box and the settings box under connections.
run anti virus and adaware software still not working? reinstall IE.
__________________
Breathe! It's only the internet....
carazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2003, 10:42   #8 (permalink)
***** Idiot....
 
LunaticSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: The Sticks of Central TX
Posts: 10,561
Well be careful on the proxy bit. Some ISP's require that. But check what Carazy said.
LunaticSVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2003, 21:41   #9 (permalink)
I am The Brain
 
FordHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Melbourne, Ford of Aus land
Age: 29
Posts: 3,073
Ad-aware is definately a great product, however be careful because if you use any programs such as Kazaa, that require ads to be running then you may not be able to use the program
__________________
Would you like to change your name to Homer Junior? People can call you Hoju.
FordHawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2003, 21:51   #10 (permalink)
***** Idiot....
 
LunaticSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: The Sticks of Central TX
Posts: 10,561
that is when you use Kaaza lite. not the virus riddled one.
LunaticSVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Fordforums Community > The Pub



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Obese people have fat chance in car accidents Falchoon The Pub 16 10-06-2003 22:33
Problem with EL Trip computer russell Interior | Electrical | ECU 10 08-16-2002 03:14
1988 EA Trip Computer Installation rdela Interior | Electrical | ECU 2 06-04-2002 02:01
Calling all Computer Hippies (Sydney Radius) XR_Strider_GuY The Pub 8 02-26-2002 23:01
computer jokes HSE2 The Pub 1 01-25-2002 00:15

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 14:48.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.