Hi all.I just received an email that looked like ebay and wanted my paypal details ,credit card details,ebay details passwords etc etc ...It looks very suspect ...I beleive it is bogus .
It says to update ebay details or be disconnected....Quite frankly if it is ebay then they can stick my account where the sun dont shine!!!This is wrong!!!
This has been posted before and like the emails from so called banks, I cannot think of the correct term for these emails, its a hackers attempt to get people to log into the site, which is theirs and capture your details
Really people need to get wise to this form of information capture.
And if they are foolish enough to fall for it, then.......................
Yep...a bit scary ..but the old useless is onto them like a bat out of hell!!!And what makes them think that if they tick off the wrong people that they arent targets???Computer security is pretty basic ...even with firewalls..
no company will expect you to send your credit card details through email. Never send any personal information that you dont want others to see through email. These people are gutless keyboard warrior geeks who think they can steal from people while hiding behind there computer.
__________________
EFII Fairmont Ghia: EL GT's, NF corner lights, Tickford intake. more soon
I have to admit that Andy and I got scammed by one of these e-mails last week.
We recieved an e-mail that looked like it came from ebay - stating that we needed to click on the link to become an Ebay PowerSeller.
So, foolishly we clicked on it (It didn't seem suspicious - it didn't ask for Credit Card details or any personal information) and we came to a screen where we had to "log in" we did so, and were advised we were now Ebay "PowerSellers". (Please note that this log in screen was Identical to the one you use to log onto Ebay.. they did a good job of copying it!!!)
A few days later we recieved notification (from the real Ebay) that Ebay has suspended out account as they believe someone had created a "fake" item for sale on our behalf. (a honda gold wing to be exact)
After an online chat to an Ebay staff member we realised we got scammed. The person had "captured" our logon information.
We have since on-fowarded the scammers e-mail on to Ebay. (spoofs@ebay.com.au)
Ebay have advised they will NEVER send anything like that, and have advised us of the scam mentioned earlier in the thread.
Thanks to Ebay for picking up on the bogus item!
Sure sucks to know that we got suckered in by a scammer!!!! grrrr!!!!
Our account has been set up again... but it took a little while.. and a lot of worrying!
__________________
ED FOR SALE
See Below Link:
http://www.fordforums.com/showthread.php?t=92364
"If you don't know where you are going, any road will do" - Lewis Carrol.
The basic rule is: an organisation will never ask you to confirm your details via email or the web. If you're unsure, ring them and check.
__________________ Slothmobile™n. (slōthmōbēl)
Off-white EL Series II Falcon GLi Sapphire (4.0L Slothmatic™) with K&N Filtercharger, Tickford Sports Suspension, DBA Longlife Gold (front), DBA Longlife Slotted (rear) and Bendix Ultimates all round. Driven by The Slothman™.
A few days later we recieved notification (from the real Ebay) that Ebay has suspended out account as they believe someone had created a "fake" item for sale on our behalf. (a honda gold wing to be exact)
The same scammers have a BA FPV GT, Monaro (actually a GTO coupe) and a WRX all for under 9000 each... what bargains......
So you're not alone in getting duped, that's 3 different ebay accounts just there
The AutoGuide.com network consists of the largest network of enthusiast-owned enthusiast-operated automotive communities.
AutoGuide.com provides the latest car reviews, auto show coverage, new car prices, and automotive news. The AutoGuide network operates more than 100 automotive forums where our users consult peers for shopping information and advice, and share opinions as a community.