Modem Firmware Problem - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Fordforums Community > The Pub
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

The Pub For General Discussion

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2002, 08:53   #1 (permalink)
T5 Expert Operator
 
XR_Strider_GuY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: 3Fb Skunk Works(JXR01 Dev)
Age: 35
Posts: 6,542
confused Modem Firmware Problem

Ok this is for the computer experts here,

I have a Banksia Wave SP56 modem (BD4064P) the latest firmware upgrade for the modem from the netcomm site (Netcomm now owns Banksia).
I decided to get the latest firmware as i thought my modem would connect at a higher speed, it was connecting at
42,667bps, which is pretty ordinary for a 56k modem.

I installed the new firmware and flashed the modem and all but now instead of the bps increasing it has gone down to 33.6bps "Not Happy Jan". :mad: :mad:

Anyone got this modem that may be able to help me as to why it has gone slower. Also there seems to be no setting anywhere that i can see that can alter the modem speed. Seems it's behaving as a 33.6 modem now. :dead: :dead:

Thanks in advanced.
__________________
Motor May 2001 Quote: "Believe it or not, there are actually a bunch of weirdos out there who reckon a six cylinder is the dux gutz. Bugger it: I'm one of them" :s5

AUII Late Ed XR6 HP T5 Venom- Full Tickford Body Kit, 17in Wheels, Herrod Bi-plane Spoiler, Momo Steer/Gear, T-Series Interior Options, Premium Stereo and a very light-tuned 4.0L I6

(FPV-Tickford Club of NSW Member and Co-Founding Member of 3FB Inc, Ford Forums Food Bandits)
XR_Strider_GuY is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-06-2002, 09:50   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,386
Did you make a backup of the old firmware?

If you can say for certain that it is actually slower than before, then flash the backup back on to it.

I reckon that it would be representing a "more accurate" connection speed now tho...

To change the speed, did you go into the device manager and into modems that way?? Then on the modem tab there should be the port speed displayed there.

To get into device manager...
win95/98/me/2000
Right click my computer
properties
and there should be a tab somewhere to go into device manager

win xp
dbl click the My Computer icon
in the right hand side, choose View system information
Then choose the hardware tab
and youll see a button for device manager

Good luck
__________________
EL driver...
Futura97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2002, 21:22   #3 (permalink)
Old Car:BA XR6 New: 97 EL
 
jaytyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Australia
Age: 33
Posts: 1,031
It may be as simple as re-setting the modem initilisation string.
Upon re-flashing it has probably removed the default init string that sets it to v.90 mode.

Have a look in the users manual to make up an init string that will put it into v.90 mode.
jaytyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2002, 23:44   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In hiding
Posts: 864
I don't believe you can take any notice of the connection speed displayed - mine will be connected at 50000 and be like a snail - other times it is quick but says only 33600.
T3man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2002, 02:47   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Geelong
Age: 32
Posts: 114
also, the 56k number is only a theoretical number. the modem is physically capable of that speed, but in reality you can't expect any more than 46-48 kbps.
i've got a generic lucent win modem with xp, it's speed is at 46.6 or 36 usually, and i can't really notice the difference and i use it a lot. the only time things run slow is usually because the server on the other end(bigpond) is getting a fair amount of use.

don't worry about the speed, you're not getting ripped off or anything.

about the firmware, what operating system are you running? with the later models, eg xp, 2000 maybe me, the o/s will know what sort of modem it is, and will do it automatically, you won't need the software of the netcomm site, or so i'm led to believe from past experiences.

cheers
ninety_sixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2002, 03:57   #6 (permalink)
BSR Twin System (tm)
 
smciner1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The TQE (tm) Plant.
Age: 40
Posts: 4,751
/me is "POOTA ILLITERATE (tm)"!

__________________
Falcon G.T. Club of Geelong Inc.
Deakin University Formula SAE Car PHANTOM ENGINEERING
LSUG (Leaf Spring Users Group) Twin System Engineer
Official BSR Website - www.bsrcorp.com
Poster of the 150,000th post!
BSR "DARTH HELMET (tm)"
Marcos Ambrose & SBR, 2003 & 2004 V8SUPERCAR Champions

****ADSLSUPERFASTP0RNPIPE (tm)****
smciner1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2002, 07:13   #7 (permalink)
T5 Expert Operator
 
XR_Strider_GuY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: 3Fb Skunk Works(JXR01 Dev)
Age: 35
Posts: 6,542
Yeah thanks for the replys.

Well i tried buying a new modem in order to get a higher connection speed and the new modem ended up connecting at 28.8kbps so i'm returning it and living with my connection of 33.6k.

Before the firmware i was getting 42,667k but i haven't backed up my previous firmware so i can roll back. Looks like i'll have to live with 33.6k. I've tried all sorts of setting and doesn't work.

One initalising string i used made the modem connect ar 115kbps but thats the communication speed between modem and puter.
I think if i'm not wrong 230kbps is what 56k should be running at.
__________________
Motor May 2001 Quote: "Believe it or not, there are actually a bunch of weirdos out there who reckon a six cylinder is the dux gutz. Bugger it: I'm one of them" :s5

AUII Late Ed XR6 HP T5 Venom- Full Tickford Body Kit, 17in Wheels, Herrod Bi-plane Spoiler, Momo Steer/Gear, T-Series Interior Options, Premium Stereo and a very light-tuned 4.0L I6

(FPV-Tickford Club of NSW Member and Co-Founding Member of 3FB Inc, Ford Forums Food Bandits)
XR_Strider_GuY is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Fordforums Community > The Pub



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EA CFI 3sp auto (1989): Problem with idle return sambulance Inline 6 Tech 4 08-09-2003 05:06
95 CV engine problem 95CV Ford Crown Victoria | Mercury Marauder | Grand Marquis | P71 9 04-22-2003 21:17
SHO stopper: Engine problem in high-performance Taurus angers fans Stacy94PGT Ford Worldwide News 0 10-23-2002 22:39
Defective GM engines $30+ Bilion problem. Discovery The Pub 11 03-21-2002 19:37
EL FORD XR6 ROUGH IDLE PROBLEM Jason Smith Inline 6 Tech 28 04-06-2001 23:20

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:50.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.