Need new ISP! - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Fordforums Community > The Pub
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

The Pub For General Discussion

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-18-2003, 23:13   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 150
Need new ISP!

I need a new ISP mine is shithouse slow, drops out ect. Any sugestions?
XC351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-18-2003, 23:21   #2 (permalink)
 
XWGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,079
Re: Need new ISP!

http://www.broadbandchoice.com.au/

Should help
__________________
Chevs may go, but theres nothing like a HO!
Proud LSUG Member, and 9" Nodular Iron driveline test pilot.
Member FGTCoA
www.falcongtclub.org
XWGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2003, 23:26   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 150
Re: Need new ISP!

Thanks , will check it out.
XC351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 18:49   #4 (permalink)
gone
 
laminge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 10,402
Re: Need new ISP!

If you have the bigpond stuff, ir modem and connection and your not on a adsl fixed contract, is there anything else you need to get?

Whats the reliablity like?
laminge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 18:58   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
davocol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne
Age: 33
Posts: 765
Re: Need new ISP!

Swiftel or Dart. I have only heard good things about both.
__________________
Now the proud owner of an AU xr8 220... OHHH YeAh
davocol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 19:11   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
EFFalcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mornington Peninsula
Age: 30
Posts: 7,517
Re: Need new ISP!

netspace ADSL, never had any problems.
__________________
1995 EF II Falcon GLi: Heritage Green, 4spd Auto, AUII 17" Rims, Custom BA Front Bar, Lowered, Gas Research LPG, Clear Indicators, JVC MP3 Headunit, Phoenix Gold 6.5" Splits, Coustic 481QE Amp, Clarion 12" sub, Leather Seats, Power Window Conversion, 3.45 LSD, Pacemaker Comp Extractors, 2.5" Exhaust, Mandrel Bent Intake, High Flow Filter, Wade 1004 110 cam.

In Progress: BA XR Side Skirts, BA XR Rear bar, BA Shifter Handle.


Want your EF on effalcon.com? Drop me a PM!
E-Series Club Stickers Here!

E-Series Moderator/Membership Officer/Webmaster/Cruise Official
EFFalcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 21:52   #7 (permalink)
pR()rN_*
 
carazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adelaide,SA Australia
Age: 32
Posts: 1,966
Re: Need new ISP!

dude dropouts (on a Dial up connection anyway)
are rarly the fault of the ISP, it's normally your phone cable or your modem.
Try reinstalling your modem and try another phone cable. Failing this remove any double adapters you have on the phone line and any other devices.
If it was fine but now it's not it's most certianly your end thats the problem.
__________________
Breathe! It's only the internet....
carazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 23:25   #8 (permalink)
BOFH
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Giving the finger to speedcams
Age: 43
Posts: 7,777
Re: Need new ISP!

Modem dropouts are basically caused by the voltage in the lines dropping below acceptable limits for the modem to maintain connection. Yes there is voltage in phone lines and yes, I have done extensive research on it as it was a major problem with connectivity to units we used at work.
Basically, there is nothing you can do about it apart from try another modem (or as carazy suggested another cable).
Telstra are responsible and, while admitting it happens, refuses to take responsibility as they claim that the vast majority of line is for "voice" communication and not data.
Dont blame the ISP, it is rarely there fault.
__________________

Casper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 23:39   #9 (permalink)
pR()rN_*
 
carazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adelaide,SA Australia
Age: 32
Posts: 1,966
Re: Need new ISP!

yeah thats because they want to get everyone "on-ramp" to isdn shit thats why.
They used to gaurentee 14.4kbps now they will only check for line faults if the speed is 9600bps!!!
As far as I know most isp's won't even transmitt data if the speed is that low so you don't even get connected.
So a word of warning to anyone out there in internet land if you EVER see anything about ISDN run for the hills. It's a disgusting and antiquitated service and it means telstra charge you for timed local calls (15c per 30mins)
__________________
Breathe! It's only the internet....
carazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 23:49   #10 (permalink)
BOFH
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Giving the finger to speedcams
Age: 43
Posts: 7,777
Re: Need new ISP!

ISDN is overpriced crap. I agree totally with Carazy on this one.
__________________

Casper is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Fordforums Community > The Pub



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:45.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.