Ok Help me comptuer guys ;) - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Fordforums Community > The Pub
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

The Pub For General Discussion

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-14-2004, 00:02   #1 (permalink)
Lord of the RC
 
fordel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Adelaide
Age: 37
Posts: 2,515
confused Ok Help me comptuer guys ;)

My Main drive is a WD 120gb SATA drive.

The problem i have is that on the secondary IDE channel i have my DVDrom and a IBM 60gb IDE drive which has an old version of w2k installed on it

When i boot the system it always tries to boot from the IDE first and obviously loads w2k rather then XP from the SATA drive.

The manual is pretty useless there is nothing in there about this at all.

I have also turned off the entire boot order in the BIOS so it boots from SATA first, there is the boot other option which is enabled and still makes no difference to how it boots.

Is there anything i am missing, as i would like to get this drive working so i can format it and have some extra space

Cheers

Chris
__________________
O.F.R #6 : PM Me
Member of the Society Against Stupid SMS Language
Member #4 of the MTAS (Manual Transmission Appreciation Society)
fordel is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-14-2004, 00:55   #2 (permalink)
Bring Back the 24hr!!!
 
Donut King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Ford - No Victories!
Age: 32
Posts: 5,809
Re: Ok Help me comptuer guys ;)

fix the boot ini file to show both installations - and default to the windows xp intstall
Donut King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 02:58   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 126
Re: Ok Help me comptuer guys ;)

Also try setting the BIOS to boot from SCSI first.
__________________
ED XR6 - Mock Dev1, EL Thermos, XH intake with K&N Panel Filter, DBA Slotted Discs, Pedders Saloon Racing suspension, Whiteline adjustable swaybars.
weeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 04:41   #4 (permalink)
Hanging Around
 
9psi EB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Perth
Age: 35
Posts: 1,209
Re: Ok Help me comptuer guys ;)

Depends also on the board, some still wont boot to SATA with IDE connected.
The other alternative is repartition and reformat the IDE drive but as a secondary partition and without system files, so it wont try boot from it. Just make sure you save the data onto the SATA drive 1st.
__________________
Event's Photo Gallery: gallery.mechanicalforums.com
9psi EB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 04:50   #5 (permalink)
Falcon 2.. Ferrari 0 hehe
 
MaD_WoG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Age: 31
Posts: 1,290
Re: Ok Help me comptuer guys ;)

booting from scsi should work... mine seraches for ide, then raid, then sata, and decides what to boot from after that... i disabled raid and sata till i get money for a 200 gb sata drive :D
__________________
We live in an imperfect world, but
there is no point in trying to make it perfect, because not everyone can be GREEK!

XE Fairmont Ghia... Silver/Grey Met over black, soon to be v8, cant wait till i get another v8, after 3 LONG HARD YEARS


http://home.iprimus.com.au/diablo_vt/xeesp.swf
MaD_WoG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 18:12   #6 (permalink)
3FB's Peter Pan!!!
 
XR6HP01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sydney
Age: 34
Posts: 777
Re: Ok Help me comptuer guys ;)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaD_WoG
booting from scsi should work...
whats scsi got to do with this?? I thought we were talking about a serial ata drive here which isnt scsi. My second query here is why are you plugging a sata drive into an ide channel? It won't work unless you can enable this somehow on the mainboard. My guess is you need to get hold of a sata adapter from somewhere like a computer market and install that and see how it goes....
__________________
Insert Signature Here!!!
XR6HP01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 18:29   #7 (permalink)
Lord of the RC
 
fordel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Adelaide
Age: 37
Posts: 2,515
Re: Ok Help me comptuer guys ;)

Im not plugging SATA into IDE.. i know that wont work

SATA is in SATA Plug
IDE is in IDE Plug

when IDE is installed it doesnt boot

Thanks DK, will have to check that one out

If all else fails i will just take the damn drive to a mates place and get him to wipe it for me then chuck it in, wont boot from it if nothing on it :)

Just frustrating as everyone says check the BIOS / manual.. without reading that i have said manual is crap.... damn other PC forums

Chris
__________________
O.F.R #6 : PM Me
Member of the Society Against Stupid SMS Language
Member #4 of the MTAS (Manual Transmission Appreciation Society)
fordel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 18:37   #8 (permalink)
Hanging Around
 
9psi EB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Perth
Age: 35
Posts: 1,209
Re: Ok Help me comptuer guys ;)

Chris,

What make / model mainboard is it...
__________________
Event's Photo Gallery: gallery.mechanicalforums.com
9psi EB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 18:42   #9 (permalink)
Lord of the RC
 
fordel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Adelaide
Age: 37
Posts: 2,515
Re: Ok Help me comptuer guys ;)

Its a MSI PT8 neo - you can get the manual from http://www.msi.com.tw :)

Someone else has checked it as well as me and not found anything on it heh :)

chris
__________________
O.F.R #6 : PM Me
Member of the Society Against Stupid SMS Language
Member #4 of the MTAS (Manual Transmission Appreciation Society)
fordel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 19:31   #10 (permalink)
3FB's Peter Pan!!!
 
XR6HP01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sydney
Age: 34
Posts: 777
Re: Ok Help me comptuer guys ;)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fordel
Im not plugging SATA into IDE.. i know that wont work

SATA is in SATA Plug
IDE is in IDE Plug

when IDE is installed it doesnt boot

Thanks DK, will have to check that one out

If all else fails i will just take the damn drive to a mates place and get him to wipe it for me then chuck it in, wont boot from it if nothing on it :)

Just frustrating as everyone says check the BIOS / manual.. without reading that i have said manual is crap.... damn other PC forums

Chris
Apologies: i mis-read your first post. It is the day after a long weekend you know!
__________________
Insert Signature Here!!!
XR6HP01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Fordforums Community > The Pub



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hi all after a few things maybee u guys could help me out??? ebiisixa Interior | Electrical | ECU 1 05-07-2002 17:54
One for the Good guys! newxr8 The Pub 10 05-02-2002 05:12
3 guys meet a tribe of cannibals.... tonyk The Pub 3 04-12-2002 01:02
ok guys this is serious... FoMoCo4eva The Pub 22 03-31-2002 19:26

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:35.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.