Sat Nav - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Fordforums Community > The Pub
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

The Pub For General Discussion

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-17-2004, 23:29   #1 (permalink)
5 Litres of Fun
 
fairmont1998's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia.
Age: 39
Posts: 417
Sat Nav

Has anyone got a Navman Sat Nav unit?
I'm toying with the idea of getting one. What are peoples opinions of them?
__________________
1998 EL Fairmont 5.0 V8.
Low, Loud. How a Ford should be.
fairmont1998 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-18-2004, 00:56   #2 (permalink)
Very happy GT-P owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Wagga Wagga, New South Wales
Posts: 461
Re: Sat Nav

I had until recently the NAVMAN iC620 and it was brilliant, I used it all the time and threw away the street directory.

I had my car broken into and it was nicked.

Insurance has just given their approval for me to get a new one so Im upgrading to the NAVMAN iC630 which is the next model up and has heaps more options. I would go for this one if you can afford it.

Go to this website, http://www.aimdigital.com.au they have great deals on the 630 up to $200 off other dealers.

Ive checked out others and the NAVMAN seems to be the best.

Let me know how you go.
__________________
Terry Stevens
2005 Rapid BF GT-P
Interstate Member - FPV&XR Car Club SA
www.fpvxrclub.com.au
GTP07S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2004, 04:15   #3 (permalink)
Experimental Racer#6
 
TIKFD6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Wodonga Vic
Age: 41
Posts: 8,204
Re: Sat Nav

Tezza, has the navman got any out puts so you can run it through a bigger screen?
TIKFD6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2004, 04:39   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
GTP 320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: MELBOURNE AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,627
Re: Sat Nav

I suppose it's the next best thing to a factory one fitted and looks obviously easy to install as an after market.
As far as SatNav they certainly work wonders, and it's amazing how acurate they are,it would be a good item for taxi drivers but the only problem would be for them to know how to use it. lol
Cheers John
__________________

"FPV & XR Owners Club of Victoria"
If you have an XR6, XR8, T-Series or FPV vehicle (GTs) why not join.
Motorsport,Show n Shine,Cruise days,Factory tours,Special events
FPV and XR Owners Club of Victoria

www.fpvxrclub.com
Extra's Leather seats, Sunroof, Premium Sound, Satellite Navigation, Reversing Sensors,
GTP 320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2004, 18:55   #5 (permalink)
Two SC 61's = trouble
 
ebxr8240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Penrith,nswAus/Morrinville.NZ
Age: 60
Posts: 6,360
Re: Sat Nav

That is or was a N.Z company..
__________________
Don't be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the Ark...Professionals built the Titanic!
.
Tuned & maintained by "Peppertree Perfmormance". Dart block, Scat 4340 steel crank, Custom C.P pistons.Oliver rods.. Mal Wood twin plate clutch.. Twin SC61/2's,482 rwkw/ 645 rwhp..
Passengers, myocardial infarction material..
R.I.P Possum...
ebxr8240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2004, 03:02   #6 (permalink)
Very happy GT-P owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Wagga Wagga, New South Wales
Posts: 461
Re: Sat Nav

Quote:
Originally Posted by TIKFD6
Tezza, has the navman got any out puts so you can run it through a bigger screen?
I know they have an external antenna input, but not aware of a display output.

I dont think you need it, with a 320 x 240 screen its easy to read
__________________
Terry Stevens
2005 Rapid BF GT-P
Interstate Member - FPV&XR Car Club SA
www.fpvxrclub.com.au
GTP07S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2004, 03:04   #7 (permalink)
FF Town Mayor
 
XRchic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Adelaide
Age: 42
Posts: 1,700
Re: Sat Nav

Quote:
Originally Posted by teza68
I know they have an external antenna input, but not aware of a display output.

I dont think you need it, with a 320 x 240 screen its easy to read
Thats the one Im looking at getting teza, thanks for the info....
__________________
2003 BA NA XR6, Silhouette, manual, sunroof, premium audio, alarm, window tint, scuff plates, Navman (in TIMEOUT (tm))
JMM DEV3 BA kit
Unichip
Extractors
2.5 inch cat
2.5 inch exhaust
Air intake conversion/pod
Performance plugs
170.0rwkw
14.80 @ 95.33 mph

Founder MTAS (Manual Transmission Appreciation Society)
Founder Society Against Stupid SMS Language
O.F.R. # 138
XRchic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2004, 03:25   #8 (permalink)
Experimental Racer#6
 
TIKFD6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Wodonga Vic
Age: 41
Posts: 8,204
Re: Sat Nav

Quote:
Originally Posted by teza68
I know they have an external antenna input, but not aware of a display output.

I dont think you need it, with a 320 x 240 screen its easy to read
Fair enought Teza, i can get a 7" in dash TFT-LCD for a very good price from work and i am looking at running the Satnav through that.
TIKFD6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2004, 04:52   #9 (permalink)
Mmm, high pressure wash.
 
3Toed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Sydney, Australia
Age: 39
Posts: 3,086
Re: Sat Nav

NavMan also have th GPS4410 Bluetooth GPS antenna for those who already own a Pocket PC based PDA. Just bind the antenna to the PDA, install the software and off you go.

It's in the mid-$600's so is cheaper than buying a dedicated SatNav unit...and is one less thing to carry.

Some PDA's also have an option to connect to a monitor. I have an O2 XdaII and one accessory for it is a backpack that fits onto the back of it and it has a CompactFlash slot and VGA output amongst other things. That could be used to hook up to a larger screen if desired.
__________________
Slothmobile™ n. (slōthmōbēl)
Off-white EL Series II Falcon GLi Sapphire (4.0L Slothmatic™) with K&N Filtercharger, Tickford Sports Suspension, DBA Longlife Gold (front), DBA Longlife Slotted (rear) and Bendix Ultimates all round. Driven by The Slothman™.

Co-Founding Member of 3FB Inc, or the Ford Forums Food Bandits, where cruising, eating and talking shite is what it's all about. Click here to visit the official (albeit slightly outdated) website!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Team GT Media
We love having 3FB Inc guys around!
3Toed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2004, 18:40   #10 (permalink)
Ford Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 1,156
Re: Sat Nav

Hmm So you could hook you PDA VGA out to the ICC screen in say a BA falcon?

I'm not sure if using the Factory Sat nav is such a good idea concidering that it seems to be unupgradeable (newer DVD's don't work), and the DVD with the system is version 2 and current versions are version 10+..

Not to mention using the PDA on the falcon screen would be pretty handy.

Plus its removeable to new cars etc, cheaper than factory, upgradable.
IPhido is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Fordforums Community > The Pub



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 23:48.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.