state inspections - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Fordforums Community > The Pub
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

The Pub For General Discussion

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2001, 05:46   #1 (permalink)
Mod/Multicar Member

state inspections

i'm an inspection tech in massachusetts. i was wondering what eveyone els has to go through in there state to get a inspection sticker. here we have to pass an emision test every other year (83 and older are exempt from emisions) and saftey every year. mass started running the cars on a dyno two years ago. does any one els have to have there cars run on a dyno?
82f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-09-2001, 06:07   #2 (permalink)
Multi Car Owner

DYNO, never heard that before. here in Middle TN, NASHVILLE area, they test any car 75 or older. They jsut check for cats (visual) test the exhaust and the gas cap. Otherwise they do not pop the hood or anything. Go out to a rural county and they do nothing!
Marqman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2001, 09:24   #3 (permalink)

Our inspections are every year, but only for Metro Atlanta. The rest of the state doesn't get inspected. Some shops use the dyno but most don't. It's $25.00 and it goes back 20yrs. It was every other year and went back 10yrs, but the EPA got on to Georgia and threaten to take away Federal funds for roads. Actualy I think it's a bunch of BS. Just another expensive tax, a tax on air. The state doesn't check brakes, tires, turn signals, etc. etc. Just your emissions, thats one of several reasons why I think it's BS.

My next Ford.....