Supra 5 speed - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
The Pub For General Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-31-03, 01:55 AM Thread Starter
EA 5 Speed YEAH BABY!
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Perth
Posts: 77
Supra 5 speed

Hi guys just wondering if its possible to fit a supra 5spd into an ea....i have heard that it is...

if it is has anyone done it?
what is involved? ie cost and extra bits required (bell housing?)
should i just get a normal T5?

Thanks alot
:D

Cam
Imperator is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-31-03, 05:04 AM
100 SPEED LIMITED SILVAEA
 
gm dstroya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: gold coast and off playing with 32psi of boost pumping into 4.1lt of pure ohc feralness and developing a 350hp n/a kit for ea-au i6, also making 5.0lt gear soon enuf
Posts: 1,043
Re: Supra 5 speed

yeah mate it can be done i have done it my self in the ea turbo.

i got a complete conversion kit from castlemain rod shop cost 685 bucks but that was including a cross member that was useless (they dont make the crossmember for the ea-el) but they supplied me with a xd-xf (i did ask for it so i could get the bolt pattern) i just modified the standard manual t-5 cross member and it works fine

the box goes for about 500 for a n/a and about 1200-1500 for a 5 spd turbo box.

cheers.joe.

live in S.E. queensland? bit of a revhead? click here!!--> speedphreaks

1000hp is underway. rods,pistons here!! t88 on its way!!
gm dstroya is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-31-03, 05:16 AM
Hanging Around
 
9psi EB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Perth
Age: 37
Posts: 1,209
Re: Supra 5 speed

Yes, its possible, and i beleive it has been done.
Castlemaine have bell housing kits etc, best bet would be to call them, they can tell you exactly whats involved.
Dont go a T-5 if you plan on driving it real hard (the reason im staying with the auto) as they cant take it.

Event's Photo Gallery: gallery.mechanicalforums.com
9psi EB is offline  
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-31-03, 05:18 AM Thread Starter
EA 5 Speed YEAH BABY!
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Perth
Posts: 77
Re: Supra 5 speed

thanks alot for that..... might have to look into it
Imperator is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-31-03, 07:06 PM
I am a Turbo Wanker
 
YOOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brisbane
Age: 34
Posts: 2,379
Whats the shift quality like?

256rwkw @ 1920kgs
YOOT is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-01-03, 03:33 AM
100 SPEED LIMITED SILVAEA
 
gm dstroya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: gold coast and off playing with 32psi of boost pumping into 4.1lt of pure ohc feralness and developing a 350hp n/a kit for ea-au i6, also making 5.0lt gear soon enuf
Posts: 1,043
Re: Supra 5 speed

bloody good!

live in S.E. queensland? bit of a revhead? click here!!--> speedphreaks

1000hp is underway. rods,pistons here!! t88 on its way!!
gm dstroya is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-01-03, 03:35 AM
100 SPEED LIMITED SILVAEA
 
gm dstroya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: gold coast and off playing with 32psi of boost pumping into 4.1lt of pure ohc feralness and developing a 350hp n/a kit for ea-au i6, also making 5.0lt gear soon enuf
Posts: 1,043
Re: Supra 5 speed

bloody good! its a damn site better then the t-5 (imo). they have a nice feel thru the gates.

cheers.joe.

live in S.E. queensland? bit of a revhead? click here!!--> speedphreaks

1000hp is underway. rods,pistons here!! t88 on its way!!
gm dstroya is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-01-03, 05:52 AM
I am a Turbo Wanker
 
YOOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brisbane
Age: 34
Posts: 2,379
Whats the best way to get hold of one?

256rwkw @ 1920kgs
YOOT is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-01-03, 06:08 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: queensland
Posts: 1,134
Re: Supra 5 speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by gm dstroya
about 1200-1500 for a 5 spd turbo box.
At that price, I'll have ten.

If you're not driving a manual you're really just steering.
WBT56 is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-03-03, 04:17 AM
Birth, Drift, Death...
 
Rollin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Drifting Brisbane...
Age: 34
Posts: 3,039
Re: Supra 5 speed

what are the ratios like in comparison to the T5? taller, shorter, closer, wider?

Slick, Quick and Fulliii SIK!!!
Proud TQE Operator

197.4hp at the wheels, 14.505@152.46km/h
Tuning in progress...
*CLICK TO SEE MY XR6*
I can get new Genuine Holden/Ford/Audi/Land Rover/Honda parts cheap, PM me!
Rollin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Fordforums Community > The Pub


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Year was 1976 .... russellw The Pub 21 03-15-03 10:13 AM
3 vs 4 vs 5 speed boxes. AUII_Forte General Tech 15 02-20-03 12:12 AM
Supra 5 Speed XAXEXF General Tech 5 12-27-02 12:40 AM
Did EF Futura's come out in a 5 speed??? NAPARM The Pub 6 04-29-02 08:50 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome