Where to get a replacement Optus Cable broadband modem? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Fordforums Community > The Pub
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

The Pub For General Discussion

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-16-2004, 17:42   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Aussie Falcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 2,153
Question Where to get a replacement Optus Cable broadband modem?

My cousins Optusnet Cable broadband modem (Motorola SB4200) got fried in a recent storm.

It was just out of warranty and Optus want to charge $80 to replace it and $90 to come over and plug it in.

I know you can buy second hand ones on ebay, but is there anywhere you can buy these new(or 2nd hand) in Sydney at a shopfront? All I seem to see are ADSL modems.

I've had to lend him my modem and I'm suffering withdrawal symptoms
__________________
My Photography Gallery: http://www.csphotography.com.au/
__________________
Aussie Falcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-16-2004, 18:13   #2 (permalink)
www.lukehimself.com
 
LuKeY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Age: 27
Posts: 337
Re: Where to get a replacement Optus Cable broadband modem?

I have one lying round somewhere.

They are bloody expensive you'd be best just paying the $80
__________________
www.lukehimself.com is here
LuKeY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2004, 18:26   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Aussie Falcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 2,153
Re: Where to get a replacement Optus Cable broadband modem?

If it was just $80 it would be fine but they insist on coming out and plugging in three cables and charging another $90.
__________________
My Photography Gallery: http://www.csphotography.com.au/
__________________
Aussie Falcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2004, 19:28   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
pauljh74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 738
Re: Where to get a replacement Optus Cable broadband modem?

Apparently there are some modems set for Telstra, some set for Optus - even if they are the same model. If you try and connect up with a modem for Telstra on Optus, they might not support you at all and you may be unable to connect it. If you're gonna go via Ebay, it has to have been used on the Optus network as I think Optus will check the serial number on the modem before they'll OK you.

It sux how they screw money out of you this way.
__________________
Yes, I am an agent of Satan, but my duties are largely ceremonial.
pauljh74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2004, 21:11   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Melbourne , Vic
Posts: 202
Re: Where to get a replacement Optus Cable broadband modem?

Agree with Paulyjh74, except I believe it's to do with the MAC adress of the modem being linked to your account. I even think if you're unlucky and the modem you buy is a result of a canceled account then they won't re-enable the MAC adress on thier service. Save yourself some money, speak to a different customer service rep. and get a new modem sent out for the $80

(P.S If you feel the need to try and buy one off the street, Cash Converters are worth a try )
st00pid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2004, 22:54   #6 (permalink)
The Guy You Love To Hate
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: VICTORIA: The Revenue State
Posts: 1,510
Re: Where to get a replacement Optus Cable broadband modem?

Your best bet is to get a $80 modem off Optus. Im doing broadband installs right now, i dont htink youll manage to find a cheaper modem privately. Maybe used one osmewhere but good luck.

Install is easy, like you said 3plugs.
__________________
Welcome To Victoria, Home Of The Speed Camera

Just another Eseries...
T_Terror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2004, 15:11   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Aussie Falcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 2,153
Re: Where to get a replacement Optus Cable broadband modem?

thanks for all your replies. I'll pass on your suggestions to my cousin.

Thanks
__________________
My Photography Gallery: http://www.csphotography.com.au/
__________________
Aussie Falcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 03:56   #8 (permalink)
Two SC 61's = trouble
 
ebxr8240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Penrith,nswAus/Morrinville.NZ
Age: 60
Posts: 6,360
Re: Where to get a replacement Optus Cable broadband modem?

Check that contents insurance covers it???
__________________
Don't be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the Ark...Professionals built the Titanic!
.
Tuned & maintained by "Peppertree Perfmormance". Dart block, Scat 4340 steel crank, Custom C.P pistons.Oliver rods.. Mal Wood twin plate clutch.. Twin SC61/2's,482 rwkw/ 645 rwhp..
Passengers, myocardial infarction material..
R.I.P Possum...
ebxr8240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Fordforums Community > The Pub



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Battery in boot? XFGHIA Interior | Electrical | ECU 10 09-23-2004 20:09
Optus..say The Word No!!!! useless The Pub 26 08-29-2004 06:54
Im ready to throttle my cable.. barry_v General Tech 3 02-02-2004 07:17
about RCA cable pricing and power cabling.. jmartion Audio And Security 11 07-06-2003 03:19
Optus plans download limit Falchoon The Pub 7 03-05-2002 09:16

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 19:00.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.