Just bought my new used 1986 5.0 Straight Six Bronco Eddie Bauer! - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Trucks | Utes | Vans |SUVs | Crossovers > Ford Bronco Forum
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

Ford Bronco Forum Forum for discussion of the Ford Bronco

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-12-2010, 08:41   #1 (permalink)
Master of Mechanical Fail

Just bought my new used 1986 5.0 Straight Six Bronco Eddie Bauer!

Hello hello

I am not a mechanical person. I can change oil and plugs (if I can see them and all their associated wires) and install a stereo, but beside that and occasional fluid flushing I'm pretty incompetent.

My story: I'm a student who's going abroad in six months and needed a vehicle for that time period, one that I could camp/sleep out of when I want/need to and that was under $3k. I looked for a Cherokee, Sidekick, Trooper, or Bronco. All the Cherokees were ancient in terms of mileage and seemed rather abused, the Sidekicks were too rare, and the Troopers were also rare and have bad histories in terms of oil usage and engine reliability. Enter the Bronco, which is cheaper off the bat and relatively reliable, plus seemed to overall have less owner abuse.