Ford Forums banner

93 Taurus SHO engine gettin hot

2K views 5 replies 3 participants last post by  phoenixsmash13 
#1 ·
ok sorry but this is my first car, and im not too good with the whole fixing cars thing. the engine was from another SHO that someone else put in 50000 miles ago and since i bought it i noticed the engine gets real hot n makes my check engine light come on. i figured it was low on anti freeze so i bought some 50/50 n put some in and still same problem. now if i could get some generalization as to what might be the causes that would be awesome. the car also had about 120000 miles on it and its an auto any suggestions can help thanks

#4 ·
alright we replaced the thermostat but its still overheating but we think we might have found the problem....my friend said that when he looked under my hood the fans werent turning? is that a problem? would it cause overheating and why? we also noticed there was a plug that wasnt plugged to anything and we couldnt find where it went to. any help would be great online diagrams or just a simple picture would be awesome

#5 ·
ya that could be the problem. The larger SHO engines more require more air to cool than the 3.0, so if there's a shortage it could be a problem. How many of the fans are running and how many arn't?

Where exactly is this unknown plug located? Do you know what it belongs to? Do you know where it's supposed to plug into?

If that unknown plug dosn't turn on the fan, it could be a blown relay or something. Talk to your dealer mechanic about getting it fized.

#6 ·