Ford Forums banner

97 Taures - cig lighter always 'hot'

3K views 8 replies 3 participants last post by  chipset 
#1 ·
The cigarette lighter in my 1997 Ford Taurus is always on ('hot'). As I use this for my GPS, I would love it, if I turned off the ignition, the power is also disconnected from the lighter socket.

I have heard using a relay for this, but honestly this sounds like a lot of work and messing with a lot of different wires/connections.

I assume there must be an easier solution to this?

I have no experience with the wiring in this car (or any car!), so please go easy on me

Any suggestions would be very much appreciated!

See less See more
#3 ·
I actually bought already a power-outlet, but disconnected the wires from the original and connected them to the new one.
This simply so I can use it while the arm-rest is down.
Now to your solution:
Can I simply tap a wire on 1 of the "switched" fuses and do it that way?
What fuse would you recommend?
Doing some research, I found out that in the fusebox, the lighter is connected to fuse #20: 5A / Integrated control panel, remote entry, cigar lighter.
Now I was thinking, could I connect it to fuse #8: 5A / Power antenna, radio control unit, GEM ?? (hoping that that is a "switched" fuse)'

Thanks for your help so far and your fast(!) reply :hy:

#4 ·
You will need run the hot wire to the fuse, the other wire to a ground and that would work fine. Make sure you know which wires (+ -) are which coming out of the new socket, you don't want to reverse polarity.

If you have a test light or multi-meter you can tell pretty quick what fuses are dead with ignition off.

You will probably be ok jumping off that fuse since a GPS doesn't pull much current.

#5 ·