code p0401 and p1504 - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Taurus | Mercury Sable | Ford Taurus SHO | 1986-2007
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

Ford Taurus | Mercury Sable | Ford Taurus SHO | 1986-2007 Forum for discussion of the Ford Taurus, Mercury Sable and Ford Taurus SHO. Covers vehicle years: 1986-2007

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-04-2006, 06:29   #1 (permalink)

code p0401 and p1504

hello, my mom's 99 taurus se 3.0 ohv has a code p0401 and p1504 in the system. book that came with this cheap obd2 reader says that p0401 is egr insufficient flow detected. i am not a mechanic-i was going to take a vacum pump home tonight to test the egr valve. am i wasting my time? the book states there is a backpressure sensor, etc. but i thought that i read something in here about these cars having egr valve problems. book also says p1504 is a dealership code that i can not find in the book i have . please help!!!!
p.s car starts bad when is is cold-i'm hoping it is related to this egr code.
rodfoster is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-04-2006, 13:43   #2 (permalink)

Re: code p0401 and p1504

Yes, tackle the P0401 first as the other code might be a cascade.

I'm not sure how you test the EGR for adequate flow, unless it is clearly plugged.

Don't forget to check the EGR Sensor (aka DPFE sensor). That is a very common failure point. It should be co-located with the EGR Valve. Check the hose and electrical connector.