Question for you guys ? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Taurus | Mercury Sable | Ford Taurus SHO | 1986-2007
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

Ford Taurus | Mercury Sable | Ford Taurus SHO | 1986-2007 Forum for discussion of the Ford Taurus, Mercury Sable and Ford Taurus SHO. Covers vehicle years: 1986-2007

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2011, 12:53   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 38
Question for you guys ?

Hello there I have a questions for you guys. I have a 1998 Ford Taurus. I start the car up in the morning and I let it warm up for a bit. I get ready to put it in reverse and the car dies an in the past I was able to restart it. Well today it just wouldn't start so I had to jump start it. This only happens in the morning and I live in Michigan so it can be cold in the morning. I am not sure what the problem is. Right now there is no check engine light on. Well thanks for the help.

Scott
alomar721 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-11-2011, 14:52   #2 (permalink)
2002 F150 XLT
 
Bert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 9,808
Re: Question for you guys ?

Why did you have to jump start it. Was the battery low or did you crank it a long time? I'd take it to Autozone or Avanced auto parts and have them check for codes. The light doesn't have to be on to have codes. Get some MAF cleaner and clean the MAF, some carb cleaner and clean the IAC.
__________________
Bert
Bert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 19:07   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 38
Re: Question for you guys ?

I cranked it for awhile and it won't start. I am not sure how old the battery is. I will have to run it up to autozone and see if there is a problem.

Scott
alomar721 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 14:18   #4 (permalink)
canuck
 
360ci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 2,475
Re: Question for you guys ?

In cold weather (I think it even states in the owners manual) to press the gas pedal once or twice before you attempt to start it. It helps lower the crank time significantly. At least it does with my '99. I always thought it was meant for older carb engines, but nope!
__________________
'00 Durango R/T 360ci 290hp (modded); 138,500m
'06 Pontiac G6 GT 3.5L 220hp; 44,000m
'12 Chrysler 200 Limited 3.6L 283hp; 13,000m
'99 Taurus 3.0L 2V Vulcan 145hp; 154,300m - Traded
Amsoil in all vehicles!
360ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 14:25   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 38
Re: Question for you guys ?

Well I had someone run the machine on the car. It came back as a speed sensor. I replaced this about a month ago. I belive I have a loose wire.
Scott
alomar721 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 14:31   #6 (permalink)
canuck
 
360ci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 2,475
Re: Question for you guys ?

Always a bugger. Especially when you find out it's a part you had recently replaced.

Some of us on here have a few loose wires, too. Not to worry and thanks for the update.
__________________
'00 Durango R/T 360ci 290hp (modded); 138,500m
'06 Pontiac G6 GT 3.5L 220hp; 44,000m
'12 Chrysler 200 Limited 3.6L 283hp; 13,000m
'99 Taurus 3.0L 2V Vulcan 145hp; 154,300m - Traded
Amsoil in all vehicles!
360ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 17:27   #7 (permalink)
Always the student
 
thefonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,708
Re: Question for you guys ?

360ci, don't know it it is true or not, but someone said the biggest problem with your vehicles is a loose nut behind the steering wheel.


Quote:
Originally Posted by 360ci View Post
Always a bugger. Especially when you find out it's a part you had recently replaced.

Some of us on here have a few loose wires, too. Not to worry and thanks for the update.
thefonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 17:31   #8 (permalink)
canuck
 
360ci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 2,475
Re: Question for you guys ?

..Similar to when people have computer problems. I say "problem exists between keyboard and chair" and it shuts them right up.
__________________
'00 Durango R/T 360ci 290hp (modded); 138,500m
'06 Pontiac G6 GT 3.5L 220hp; 44,000m
'12 Chrysler 200 Limited 3.6L 283hp; 13,000m
'99 Taurus 3.0L 2V Vulcan 145hp; 154,300m - Traded
Amsoil in all vehicles!
360ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 13:45   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 14
Re: Question for you guys ?

try changing the battery or maybe its an alternator problem
AutomediaJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Taurus | Mercury Sable | Ford Taurus SHO | 1986-2007



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:33.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.