Ford Forums banner

Test methods for individual coil packs

60K views 6 replies 4 participants last post by  doc_aoc 
#1 ·
Can anyone describe some ways to test individual coil packs?

I was getting a misfire on cylinder 4. I looked at the spark plugs and they looked like they hadn't ever been changed (179000 miles later)! Gap was around 0.065-0.080", and very corroded plugs. The plug in cylinder 4 and 6 had a little oil on the threads, so I tightened the valve cover bolts, hoping that'll take care of it. Also, the boot had a little what looked like burnt oil going up the side, and the spring inside had some brown goop on it. After changing the front 3 easy plugs, boots and springs, engine runs much better but still has a couple hick-ups at idle from time to time. I'm going to pull the intake manifold off and replace the back 3 plugs also, and while I've got it apart I'd like to check the coil packs. I've got a multimeter, but I'm new to it, and don't know much about ohm testing.

Thanks for the help!

2000 Ford Taurus Sedan
3.0L Duratec DOHC

#2 ·
Testing

3.0L (VIN S) Engine
Primary Winding Resistance

1.Turn the ignition OFF .
2.Disconnect the negative battery cable.
3.Disconnect the wiring harness from the ignition coil.
4.Check for dirt, corrosion or damage on the terminals and repair as necessary.
5.Measure coil primary resistance between ignition coil pin 4 (B+) and pins 1 (coil 2), 2 (coil 3) and 3 (coil 1).
6.Resistance should be 0.3-1.0 ohms. If resistance is out of specifications, replace the coil pack. If resistance is within specifications, proceed to secondary windings testing.

Secondary Winding Resistance

1.Measure coil secondary resistance between the corresponding spark plug wire towers on the coil.

Coil 1-cylinders 1 and 5
Coil 3-cylinders 2 and 6
Coil 2-cylinders 3 and 4

2.Resistance should be 12.8-13.1 kilohms. If secondary resistance is not within specification, replace the coil pack.

#4 ·