Why does ford engine use serpentine belt? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Taurus | Mercury Sable | Ford Taurus SHO | 1986-2007 Forum for discussion of the Ford Taurus, Mercury Sable and Ford Taurus SHO. Covers vehicle years: 1986-2007

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-04-07, 09:35 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 43
Why does ford engine use serpentine belt?

I'm so impressed by the serpentine belt configuration of the
V6 vulcan 3.0 12V engine in my Sable GS. In this configuration,
the crankcase shaft outputs power from engine to drive all
the rotating components.

Since this belt has to route so many units. I just worry if
this is the culprit that this engine has a poor gas mileage
and power output compared to its Toyota, Honda counterparts.

Indeed I really have a negative opinion on the belt guide,
and belt tensioner location. These two things do nothing
but dissipate engine power. Although they were initially designed
to prevent slipperiness when friction force was generated between
pulleys and belt to drive units like water pump, generator, etc.,
I just feel they are not placed in the right locations to do this job.

I hope Ford can do something to correct this drawback in
their engine design of later models.

chenripp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-08-07, 01:16 PM
Hi-Tech Redneck
 
Johnny Mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ashtabula, Ohio
Age: 45
Posts: 1,486
Re: Why does ford engine use serpentine belt?

Quote:
Originally Posted by chenripp

I hope Ford can do something to correct this drawback in
their engine design of later models.
Won't have to worry about that anymore. Ford had discontinued the Taurus model.
Johnny Mullet is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-26-07, 06:38 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 13
Re: Why does ford engine use serpentine belt?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Mullet
Won't have to worry about that anymore. Ford had discontinued the Taurus model.
Taurus may be back! The Ford 500 is supposedly going to be renamed the Taurus.
diofan is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-26-07, 08:17 AM
Registered User
 
tbird100636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 34
Posts: 1,835
cool Re: Why does ford engine use serpentine belt?

Quote:
Originally Posted by diofan
Taurus may be back! The Ford 500 is supposedly going to be renamed the Taurus.
It is back, they are already hitting various dealer lots, and it is a re-badged 500.

Master ASE Certified L1 Chrysler Technician- still a Ford fan at heart.
1964 Thunderbird Hardtop- Chantily Beige- 390 FE 4V V8-Uncle's Car
1966 Thunderbird Convertible- Red- 390 FE 4V V8- Uncle's other car- waiting for paint and body work!!!
tbird100636 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-26-07, 06:41 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Re: Why does ford engine use serpentine belt?

just saw a Sable...new...
taurusdd is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-26-07, 08:10 PM
Hi-Tech Redneck
 
Johnny Mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ashtabula, Ohio
Age: 45
Posts: 1,486
Re: Why does ford engine use serpentine belt?

Yeah! The FIVEHUNDRED is now a Taurus and the Sable returns!
Johnny Mullet is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Taurus | Mercury Sable | Ford Taurus SHO | 1986-2007
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome