Restoration Advice Request - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Mustang Forum
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

Ford Mustang Forum This forum is for the discussion of all Ford Mustang models, including the Ford Mustang, Ford Mustang Convertible and Ford Mustang Coupe and all older/classic models and submodels.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2002, 21:11   #1 (permalink)

Question Restoration Advice Request

Hi All,

This is my first automotive post.
I have been holding on to my Red 1972 Mustang coupe for 20 years now. Back in 98 my 302 died (broken connecting rod) and was fortunate to find a local professional gear head (he owns his own machine shop) who just happened to have a (67) 289 2V that he had rebuilt for himself, but was too busy to deal with the rest of the restoration project (works for me). It purrs like a kitten (well it did until I messed up. I'll get to that in a moment). I also have 71 (302) and 73 (351W) Mustang coupes that I use for parts (hey, no red-neck jokes. It's lawn art.) I've painted it 3 times in the past 20 years. Each time I get better at it. I did almost blow up the garage the last time (mental note: don't put air compressor in the same room you're painting in, even if it does reduce condensation in the air lines.)