Ford Forum Ford Forum

ยป Wheel & Tire Center

» Sponsors
» Sponsors
Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks and Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Mustang Forum
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Mark Forums Read

Ford Mustang Forum This forum is for the discussion of all Ford Mustang models, including the Ford Mustang, Ford Mustang Convertible and Ford Mustang Coupe and all older/classic models and submodels.

Please Visit our Site Sponsors

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-07-2004, 00:07   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
scott-351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sydney
Age: 26
Posts: 45
Too good to be true? Wary online mustang purchase...

Hi guys,
Thought I would ask this question in here as I thought some of you out there may have purchased a vehicle via the internet from overseas before.
To cut a long story short, I found via ebay a "Shelby GT500" for sale, located in Rome, Italy (See attached pics). Now ive never owned a mustang before and don't know alot about them but have always loved them. I *do* know that a Shelby GT500 is a very rare and expensive car, so when the bloke told me it was going for $7000 I was quite surprised and assumed it would be a replica.
I contacted him via email saying I was interested and got the specs of the car, he told me it is a 428 4v in great condition etc etc.
Next thing I know he has taken the car off ebay because he is "talking now with few possible buyers and still want for the best price that i have to sell the car"... So my suspicion builds.
I tell him that I am willing to do business with him but only through a reputable 3rd party organisation such as Escrow Australia...just got an email back then telling me this would not be acceptable, and insisting that the Ebay Squaretrade rules would still apply to this transaction (Even though it is not on the ebay site anymore)....
Does anybody know how the Squaretrade system works? I assumed that outside of the Ebay trading area it would be null and void.

So it looks to me like a fairly obvious case of internet fraud...

Has anybody else heard of anything like this, or have any suggestions or other ideas?

See the attachments for the car in question :
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1968ShelbyMustang.Cramer%20011.jpg (58.7 KB, 51 views)
File Type: jpg 1968ShelbyMustang.Cramer%20003.jpg (58.2 KB, 46 views)
File Type: jpg 1968ShelbyMustang.Cramer%20145.jpg (39.5 KB, 37 views)
__________________
1979 XD Falcon
351 Cleveland 2v Heads
11.5 Comp.
Stage 3 kitted FMX
3" dump exhaust



scott-351 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Old 12-07-2004, 01:56   #2 (permalink)
FF.com Administrator
 
Big Block Ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 4,017
Re: Too good to be true? Wary online mustang purchase...

I'm afraid this kind of fraud is all too common. There are numerous threads on here with others that have been confronted with the same dodgy people. Don't go any further because it is certain to be fraud. If you are really keen to go further then make absolutely sure you don't part with any money until you or someone trustworthy has veiwed the car and all the paperwork.
__________________
Lance
71 429SCJ Mustang
Big Block Ford is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2004, 02:00   #3 (permalink)
FF.com Administrator
 
Big Block Ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 4,017
Re: Too good to be true? Wary online mustang purchase...

Because this seems so common at the moment I have made the thread concerning this a "sticky" .
__________________
Lance
71 429SCJ Mustang
Big Block Ford is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2004, 02:01   #4 (permalink)
Proudly Average
 
GreenMachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Walking...
Age: 25
Posts: 1,305
Re: Too good to be true? Wary online mustang purchase...

That mustang has been ebayed a hundred times - stay away!!!
__________________
351C ZH MARQUISINATOR
Presenting, at great cost to management:
.020 over 351 Clevo, 10:1 comp, ported 302 heads, blueprinted and balanced, custom ground cam, Edelbrock intake, 600 Holley, K&N air filter, Custom Zip-Ties(tm), MSD ignition, Genie extractors, 2 x 2.5" exhaust, 2800rpm stally, rooted C4
GreenMachine is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2004, 03:59   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
scott-351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sydney
Age: 26
Posts: 45
Re: Too good to be true? Wary online mustang purchase...

Thanks for the replies guys!

I thought as much myself, just wanted to see if many other people had had similar problems.

Have reported the person to ebay, whether this will do anything or not I dont know.

Thanks again

Scott
__________________
1979 XD Falcon
351 Cleveland 2v Heads
11.5 Comp.
Stage 3 kitted FMX
3" dump exhaust



scott-351 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2005, 22:57   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Re: Too good to be true? Wary online mustang purchase...

Quote:
Originally Posted by scott-351
Hi guys,
Thought I would ask this question in here as I thought some of you out there may have purchased a vehicle via the internet from overseas before.
To cut a long story short, I found via ebay a "Shelby GT500" for sale, located in Rome, Italy (See attached pics). Now ive never owned a mustang before and don't know alot about them but have always loved them. I *do* know that a Shelby GT500 is a very rare and expensive car, so when the bloke told me it was going for $7000 I was quite surprised and assumed it would be a replica.
I contacted him via email saying I was interested and got the specs of the car, he told me it is a 428 4v in great condition etc etc.
Next thing I know he has taken the car off ebay because he is "talking now with few possible buyers and still want for the best price that i have to sell the car"... So my suspicion builds.
I tell him that I am willing to do business with him but only through a reputable 3rd party organisation such as Escrow Australia...just got an email back then telling me this would not be acceptable, and insisting that the Ebay Squaretrade rules would still apply to this transaction (Even though it is not on the ebay site anymore)....
Does anybody know how the Squaretrade system works? I assumed that outside of the Ebay trading area it would be null and void.

So it looks to me like a fairly obvious case of internet fraud...

Has anybody else heard of anything like this, or have any suggestions or other ideas?

See the attachments for the car in question :
If the overseas seller won't use a third party and split their comission in the sale, then dump the buy! You have zero legal protections in that setting! Look for another car. Seen many of these types of shows go very south. Once your money is gone, its GONE forever. What car is worth that I've no idea. Good luck.
automanpaul is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks and Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Mustang Forum





Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
05 Mustang Reviews Stacy94PGT Ford Mustang Forum 14 02-20-2005 04:23
U.S.A.:Mustang fans gallop to 40th, lots of pics.. Stacy94PGT Ford Worldwide News 0 04-14-2004 18:17
U.S.A.:Ford races for perfection on way to Mustang heaven, Stacy94PGT Ford Worldwide News 0 03-15-2004 08:32
New Engines are the Heart of Mustang Stacy94PGT Ford Mustang Forum 0 02-18-2004 07:53
New 2005 Ford Mustang set to capture American hearts - again Stacy94PGT Ford Mustang Forum 10 02-05-2004 23:21

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.1.0

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:55.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.1.0