Tachometer Problems - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Focus Forum Forum for the discussion of the Ford Focus

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-21-05, 09:11 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2
Tachometer Problems

I installed an aftermarket tachometer in my 2.0L SPI Focus. It seems to respond perfectly to engine performance without lagging at all. The problem is that the tach rarely reads over 2,000 RPM, and I know my engine is doing more than that at times. I can put my foot to the floor and it barely goes past the 2.

Can anyone help?

Thanks,
Matt

steelm84 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-21-05, 10:04 PM
XW GT
 
DANGERXY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: perth
Age: 31
Posts: 318
Re: Tachometer Problems

might be a switch on the back of the taco that can change it from 4-6-8cyl

'70 XW GT 351c 4V (SA)
'70 XW SEDAN
'71 XY FALCON UTE WORKED 351
'77 XC FALCON 500.
'92 EB FAIRMONT
'91 EB FALCON
'76 XB CONTINENTIAL
YES I LIKE MY FORDS TO
DANGERXY is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-22-05, 09:30 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2
Re: Tachometer Problems

I forgot to mention that. I checked and double checked the switch on the tach and the problem still persists.
steelm84 is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-22-05, 11:50 PM
David boghossian
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Melbourne australia
Age: 38
Posts: 10
Re: Tachometer Problems

Gday mate it seems like we've got the same problem i think in regards to the taco set up you need to wire it directly to the ecu the problem is trying to find what wire it is you could try ford and see if they will give you a wiring diagram if not try a auto elec maybe they would be able to help let me know how you go

regards dfocus (David boghossian) (ROOTRAT3977@YAHOO.COM)
DFOCUS is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-23-05, 01:15 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
Re: Tachometer Problems

I have ask some other ppl about adding a tach to the SPI and they say u have to wire it to the ECU. Take the signal wire and strip it back a little. Then push it up into the ecu wire harness at the 47 pin position. Tape the wire so it cant fall back out.
BANfocus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Focus Forum
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome