Ford Forums banner

Do I have a cracked head on my 4.0 1999 Ranger

11K views 8 replies 3 participants last post by  Bert 
#1 ·
Sooooooooo, about 6 months ago I started getting a rough idle in my 1999 4.0 x cab 2 wheel drive Ranger (135,000 mi). It also began to feel like a miss throughout the RPM range. I was messing around under the hood and noticed I was low on coolant so I added some and walked back around the drivers side to goof around with plugs wires, etc. I noticed coolant seeping out of the drivers side front of the engine. Well even though Im no mechanic, I decided that was a bad thing!

My brother and I replaced the head gaskets (both sides). We took our time, did a good job of cleaning surfaces, etc. I say this so that you realize we did a pretty decent job and didn't drop beer cans down the cylinders, etc. I did however cut one important corner. This vehicle is my only car, so I checked the heads as well as I could visually (laid a straight edge against them, etc.) I did not observe any cracks, warps, etc.

We got it all buttoned up and drove away. Same missfire type condition!!!! I looked at the plugs. Drivers side front or middle plug(cant remember) looked funny(right where the head had been leaking), so I replaced it.

The truck ran like a champ!!!I was very happy. I figured the plug was just previously damaged from the leak and the replacement fixed it.

Over the next month it started showing the same condition little by little, grrrrrrrr! I have a very short commute and don't drive it a lot. Check Engine light comes on. Its an o2 sensor. Downstream and yes on the drivers side. I replace it, and it runs normal. I pass my communist emissions test and over the next few weeks the miss fire/ rough idle comes back. I should also mention that every time it shows up, its much worse when the engine is cold, as it warms it smooths out but not completely.