1987 Tempo Stalling - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Tempo Forum | Mercury Topaz Forum
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

Ford Tempo Forum | Mercury Topaz Forum Forum for discussion of the Ford Tempo and Mercury Topaz.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2003, 17:36   #1 (permalink)
Kentuckyfried

frown 1987 Tempo Stalling

This is my first attempt at posting a message in this forum. The subject is stalling, and I'm aware that this model has had problems. I have been to seven (7) Ford garages and none (0) of them could find the problem.
When it runs, it runs great, however any time any where, it will stop.
This is a 4 cylinder fuel injected automatic transmission car. I have replaced the following items...Vaccum hose to MAPP sensor, alternator, oxygen sensor, aircharge sensor, MAPP sensor, fuel injectors, fuel pressure regulator, throttle position sensor, idle position motor, distributor, Computer, and spark plugs. The OBD does not read any defects, I can't even get it to read anything.
The shut down starts with a loss of power, nd the car will not hold a constant speed. The car has 80K miles and has been doing this for several years now. I cant spend much more money without solving the problem.
I'm sure some of you have had similar problems, and with luck have been able to fix them. So anyone with helpful information would be greatly appreciated. Please be constructive, and save the trade it in for a --- comments for someone else. I'm retired on SSI and need this transportation very badly. Thanks, I'm Kentuckyfried.

Last edited by Kentuckyfried; 08-15-2003 at 17:39.