3 spd rev limit? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Tempo Forum | Mercury Topaz Forum
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

Ford Tempo Forum | Mercury Topaz Forum Forum for discussion of the Ford Tempo and Mercury Topaz.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-23-2001, 19:36   #1 (permalink)
TempoCor84
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
3 spd rev limit?

hey, gotta ?. i just installed a tach today. i have a 3 spd auto in my 84 tempo. i notice something. none of the gears will run out past 2200 rpms, whats up with that?the car shifts at that all the time, unless i manually shift it.
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-23-2001, 19:44   #2 (permalink)
"Custom" 94 Tempo
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 21
Hummmm..... that's odd. I don't know about the 84's but my 94 3 speed will run right up to 5500rpm and hold there for about a second before shifting. If I manual shift it, it goes just a little higher, maybe 5700rpm.

My guess would be.... and I don't mean to bash you or anything, but if you just installed a tach and noticed that that car only run to 2200rpm then you probably installed the tach wrong. - 2200rpm seems way to low to be shifting.

Al
Allen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2001, 19:55   #3 (permalink)
TempoCor84
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
yeah, my car screams at just around 2500. its screamin like its about to explode. but i dont know why it would be like that, i mean, what would make it do that?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2001, 20:02   #4 (permalink)
HO V6 XR5i
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: NM
Age: 32
Posts: 118
Likely cause

Dude, check the tach for it to be set for a 4 cyl. Most aftermarket tachs have a button (in the bottom back) you can select, 4, 6 or 8 cylinders. If you have it set for a 6 or 8 cylinder, the signal frequency will be lower, thus reading a lower RPM than you're actually running. Hell, if it's set on 8 cylinders, you're actually shifting at 4800+RPM. If it doesn't have a button, then most likely your tach is meant for 8 cylinder cars. Check the button and let us know what happens so we can help you more if you need it.
__________________
Guillermo :flame:

1987 GLS - Genesis...
1988 XR5 - Will Always Live...
1993 HO XR5i - 3rd Time's a Charm...

<A HREF="http://www.zianet.com/roteno1981" TARGET="_blank">Guillermo's Garage
GuillermoXR5i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2001, 20:09   #5 (permalink)
TempoCor84
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
nope, no button, dont say i have to get another tach, that was expensive and i drilled holes. ****
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2001, 20:24   #6 (permalink)
HO V6 XR5i
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: NM
Age: 32
Posts: 118
Question

That's a big reason why I would never drill my car and why I suggested using a velcro adhesive......What is your idle speed?
__________________
Guillermo :flame:

1987 GLS - Genesis...
1988 XR5 - Will Always Live...
1993 HO XR5i - 3rd Time's a Charm...

<A HREF="http://www.zianet.com/roteno1981" TARGET="_blank">Guillermo's Garage
GuillermoXR5i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2001, 20:27   #7 (permalink)
olympic
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
What RPM does the tach show when your engine is idling? I think Guillermo is right that the tach is set for an 8 cylinder car. Check the operating manual from the tach and it should say how to set it for a 4 cylinder. Perhaps you have to pop the cover off or something. If it's an expensive tach, it definitely should be adjustable for 4,6 8 cylinder engines.
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Tempo Forum | Mercury Topaz Forum



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kimi on pole at USGP fordfan351 Ford Racing Across the Globe 10 09-28-2003 04:41
Speeding in QLD BIGBADAU The Pub 20 09-23-2003 02:21
The Year was 1976 .... russellw The Pub 21 03-15-2003 09:13
Why the 50 km/h limit has failed - some facts for a change EA S The Pub 8 02-24-2002 23:34
Can ECU cars be tuned for PULP? EA S General Tech 26 12-07-2001 22:09

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:41.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.