92 tempo cylinder 3 misses!! :( - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Tempo Forum | Mercury Topaz Forum
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

Ford Tempo Forum | Mercury Topaz Forum Forum for discussion of the Ford Tempo and Mercury Topaz.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2013, 18:33   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
92 tempo cylinder 3 misses!! :(

Hello all, new user here, i have a 92 tempo with 2.3l automatic tranny with. 159000 miles on it, it has really been a maintenance free car until recently when it just quit running, took it to a mechanic and he found the ignition module under the distributor bad, he replaced it gave it a tune up and away i went. Now 2 days later it runs like crap, take it back and he says there is another coil in the distributor that is bad, ok change that, now it misses on cylinder 3! He put new plugs, wires, cap, rotor, a new injector, ran a compression test on all 4 cylinder and they all were around 110 psi. Anybody got any ideas on what to check?? He has had the car 3 weeks now!! I need this thing to get back and forth to work, thats why i keep it, it gets great mileage. Any help will be appreciated. Thank you!

Todd
Tmnorris is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-13-2013, 19:05   #2 (permalink)
Moderators
 
r-clar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Demotte Indiana
Posts: 938
Re: 92 tempo cylinder 3 misses!! :(

Sounds suspicious to me. Don't usually just drop cylinders like that. Maybe he cracked a new plug, routed wires wrong? Something along those lines. We are human and mistakes can happen


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
r-clar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 17:23   #3 (permalink)
Dazed and Confused
 
CatSkinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 3,571
Re: 92 tempo cylinder 3 misses!! :(

Which plugs? I swallowed the hype and bought the Bosch Platinum Plus, put less than 500 miles on my truck, and now I'm running AutoLite XP's. I've heard of people quite happy with Bosch, but they don't seem to be 5.0 friendly. Back in the early 80's, I had an Escort that didn't like Champions. Also, which plug wires, I've also had the same problems with NAPA wires. Brands do make a difference
__________________
'Scuse me, while I scrape this Honda outta my treads.
CatSkinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 07:04   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
Re: 92 tempo cylinder 3 misses!! :(

Thanks for the info, i will stop by there tomorrow and ask some questions. I see that it has been moved recently. I was there last week and he said he put that new injector in and that was not the issue, so he ordered a new distributor for it and wanted to get that in wednesday or thursday. So after all this is done i will have new plugs, wires, cap, rotor, fuel filter, ignition module, pick up coil inside distributor, new harmonic balancer, compression is good across all cylinders at 110 psi. If there were valve train issues would compression on cyl 3 be down?? Or would the engine be making a god awful racket??? Any more info will be appreciated and passed!! Again thanks!

Todd
Tmnorris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 12:45   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
Re: 92 tempo cylinder 3 misses!! :(

Ok, so now a update, the distributor he ordered last week was the wrong one, ugh!! So we got another and he's gonna try to get it on today. He also said he removed the valve cover to verify that the valve train was working a that was all good!! If the new distributor don't work then i dont know what else to do! He mentioned removing the head and checking the gasket, but i dont believe that is it! Anyway thanks for listening!!
Todd
Tmnorris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 19:56   #6 (permalink)
Moderators
 
r-clar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Demotte Indiana
Posts: 938
Re: 92 tempo cylinder 3 misses!! :(

Thanks for the update. Let us know if it works out


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
r-clar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 14:27   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
Re: 92 tempo cylinder 3 misses!! :(

Ok so not sure if the new distributor worked as i was not able to get there today cuz of work, but incase i make it in the next day, what would be a few indicators that the head gasket is blown?? Im not a mechanic but wouldn't the plug be wet?? Wouldnt there be coolant coming from the exhaust pipe?? I have heard that a car with a blown head gasket pumps white smoke out the exhaust pipe?? Just a few questions i need answers to before i let him rip the head off!! Any way thanks for the info!!

Todd
Tmnorris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 14:39   #8 (permalink)
Moderators
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 10,125
Re: 92 tempo cylinder 3 misses!! :(

Depends where gasket goes whether you get white smoke , coolant out of exhaust .A block test will confirm if gasket gone .
R.S.LOGAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 06:59   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
Re: 92 tempo cylinder 3 misses!! :(

Ok so the new distributor was not the issue!! Just got off the phone with him and he says it is running good now, apparently when he un hooks the distribitor from the computer the car runs great!! Hook it back up and runs like shit!! So now we leave it un hooked and i drive it?? My question to all of you guys is have you heard of this? The computer controls spark but it will run without it?? I can understand that the computer could have a bad spot in it but will it run without computer?? I cant get there today as i gotta work till 7. But he says its running great!! Any info will be appreciated!

Todd
Tmnorris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 18:34   #10 (permalink)
Dazed and Confused
 
CatSkinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 3,571
Re: 92 tempo cylinder 3 misses!! :(

Kinda sounds like you need an ignition control module, you can get them for under 50 at Rock Auto.
RockAuto Parts Catalog
__________________
'Scuse me, while I scrape this Honda outta my treads.
CatSkinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Tempo Forum | Mercury Topaz Forum



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:44.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.