Bypassing the A/C - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Tempo Forum | Mercury Topaz Forum
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

Ford Tempo Forum | Mercury Topaz Forum Forum for discussion of the Ford Tempo and Mercury Topaz.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2004, 05:01   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
frown Bypassing the A/C

I need to bypass the a/c on 94 Tempo 6 cylinder. Is this possible and what size belt would I need? Please help, I'm supposed to be gone on vacation today.
kanawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-02-2004, 10:10   #2 (permalink)
***** Idiot....
 
LunaticSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: The Sticks of Central TX
Posts: 10,561
Re: Bypassing the A/C

It is possible but you'll have to make a bracket to mount a pulley to take the place of the a/c pulley. You will most likely find its more trouble then its worth.
LunaticSVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2004, 18:05   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
dagr8tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Age: 38
Posts: 162
Re: Bypassing the A/C

They made some tempo/topaz's without AC. You may be able to go into a parts store and buy the non ac belt and replace it.

I've known people to do this on alot of different cars. Some times it's hit or miss as to finding a belt that will work right. Your best bet would be to remove the existing belt and then use a peice of rope that is not very streatchy and route the rope like the bypassed belt will run. Then measure it, and take that measurement to an auto parts store.

This is most likely not going to be a fun issue no matter what.
__________________
My Web Gallery
Crazy 'Bout A Mercury
1991 Topaz GS (2.3/auto) (gone with the ex Wife; I'll miss that car)
1999 Grand Marquis GS (4.6/auto)
dagr8tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2004, 05:43   #4 (permalink)
gone
 
laminge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 10,402
Re: Bypassing the A/C

Welcome to the forums
laminge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2004, 06:45   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Re: Bypassing the A/C


Hi folks,Sorry to take so long to reply but I was on vacation.
I measured the belt path with out the A/C and cameout with 50 or 51. I picked up both belts to try.
The 51 was a good fit. I installed it and left for vacation.
I've put on 2000+ Kms during my trip and had no problem with the belt at all.

Now if someone could only tell me how to free a canoe that's wrapped around a rock in a rapid out in the wilderness.
(The helicopter rescue was a blast!!)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg belt.JPG (25.9 KB, 14 views)
kanawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2004, 07:01   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Smile Re: Bypassing the A/C

Quote:
Originally Posted by dagr8tim
They made some tempo/topaz's without AC. You may be able to go into a parts store and buy the non ac belt and replace it.

I've known people to do this on alot of different cars. Some times it's hit or miss as to finding a belt that will work right. Your best bet would be to remove the existing belt and then use a peice of rope that is not very streatchy and route the rope like the bypassed belt will run. Then measure it, and take that measurement to an auto parts store.

This is most likely not going to be a fun issue no matter what.
When the problem with the A/C first started I went to the Parts Source to buy an extra driver belt in case I burnt out the one on the car. As the young fellow was going through the computer screens to find the proper belt he asked A/C or Non A/C. My ears perked up at this as I had been thinking of bypassing the A/C as a possible quick fix to my problem. But he threw cold water on the idea, saying the configuration of the other driven parts would probably be different then in a model with A/C.

As you can see by my previous post, by studying the configuration I couldn't see a reason why a smaller belt that still drove the remain parts and hit the fixed roller and the tension roller wouldn't work. I used a piece of telephone cable to get an approximate measurement.

Maybe I just lucked out, but boy I was sure having fun after installing it and seeing that baby run without any apparent problem.
kanawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Tempo Forum | Mercury Topaz Forum



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bypassing smart lock for remote start aphexer Inline 6 Tech 16 07-31-2004 06:33
Bypassing Smart Lock Imobliser KRPXR8 Interior | Electrical | ECU 2 12-22-2003 19:16
bypassing my AC compressor Alex Ford Mustang Forum 6 06-05-2001 17:47

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:54.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.