Inaccurate Fuel Gauge Readings - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Tempo Forum | Mercury Topaz Forum Forum for discussion of the Ford Tempo and Mercury Topaz.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-18-06, 12:29 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Question Inaccurate Fuel Gauge Readings

Hi all. I have a 94 Tempo 2.3L Auto and it has been giving me some problems with the fuel gauge for a while. When the key is moved to the run position, the gauge falls to what I think is the accurate amount of fuel (it is closer to being accurate at least), but when I start the car, the gauge immediately jumps up quite a bit. It doesn't just stay at full, but it adds 1/2 to 3/4 of a tank automatically. The gauge shows even more fuel when I apply the brakes.

I just replaced the fuel pump and sending unit in the tank and made sure there were no problems with the wires up underneath the backseat. I'm all out of guesses. Any one else ever heard of this problem or have any suggestions? Any help is much appreciated.

jbrad001 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-18-06, 12:49 PM
93 2.3 MTX BOLTED OUT!
 
Cronicus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: in my car pretty much
Age: 30
Posts: 626
Re: Inaccurate Fuel Gauge Readings

you may have bent the float in the instalation process.

Cronicus is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-18-06, 03:36 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Re: Inaccurate Fuel Gauge Readings

I was very careful when replacing the unit. The reason I bought the new one was to correct the same problem, so I don't think the float is it. Any other ideas?
jbrad001 is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-19-06, 06:28 PM
93 2.3 MTX BOLTED OUT!
 
Cronicus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: in my car pretty much
Age: 30
Posts: 626
Re: Inaccurate Fuel Gauge Readings

did you instal the float exactly the way it came out, its easy to instal it a little rotated. if not and the wiring is in decent shape id say go for the gauge in the dash, if you really wanan do that. id recomend either instaling a aftermarket 1 with its own gauge and power supply before wasting alota time trying to fix it.

Cronicus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Tempo Forum | Mercury Topaz Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome