Tachometer - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Tempo Forum | Mercury Topaz Forum
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

Ford Tempo Forum | Mercury Topaz Forum Forum for discussion of the Ford Tempo and Mercury Topaz.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-26-2001, 20:49   #1 (permalink)
Spartan031
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Question Tachometer

I'm planning on buying a tachometer from carparts.com and I was just wondering if it's easy enough to install by myself. I don't know much about cars, so I just want to know if installing this thing takes any kind of skill. Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-26-2001, 21:02   #2 (permalink)
olympic
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
You'll have a max of 4 wires to hook up. A positive wire to supply power when the ignition is on(probably run this one to the fuse box), a ground wire, a wire for the tachs back lighting(hook this one up to the dash lights-fuse box again), and a wire that goes to the negative side of the coil under the hood for signal. The manual that comes with the tach should explain all this.

The hardest part is maneuvering under the dash. To get the signal wire through the firewall, take a stiff wire(coat hanger), securely tape the signal wire from the tach to one end and poke the other end of the coat hanger through one of the rubber grommets in the firewall. Go to the engine bay and pull the wire through. Be sure to secure all wires with zip ties so they don't rub or get caught on anything.

Also remember to set the tach for a 4 cylinder engine. There should be a switch somewhere and the manual should explain where it is.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2001, 05:57   #3 (permalink)
TempoCor84
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
hey olympic

hey, i just installed a tach in my car, and everythign is hooked up right. however, i think there is something wrong. it reads my rpms way to low i think. i mean, ive gone over a hundred on the highway, the motor was screamin, and i was barely at 2000 rpms. i havent ever gotten it over 2500 rpms? this cant be right can it? i mean iv floored this thing and it didnt go high. its an autometer, sport-comp 5" monster tach. you said about there being a way to set it for 4 cylinder? how on earth do u know what its set to? please help.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2001, 12:29   #4 (permalink)
Ford Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Spokane, WA
Age: 32
Posts: 21
one of my friends has a monster tach in his taurus, and it's off by a TON. like almost 1k RPM's when he's at 3kRPM's
__________________
Tiernan Pearson-Got boost?
1994 eclipse- 38 hp per cyl
1990 laser- 65 hp per cyl
1965 chev trk- 9 hp per cyl
Kakita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2001, 12:45   #5 (permalink)
TempoCor84
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
ok, finally i fixed my tach problem. and hopefully your buddys kakita. see, on the back of the tach, where the 4 wires run out, there should be 2 loops, a brown and a orange loop. mine were pushed inside for some reason, so i had to fish around with a paper clip with a hook on the end to pull them out. then, all you do, is for a 6 yl, cut the brown one, and for a 4 cylinder cut both loops. then just tape the ends off sepratly. thats all there is to it. this comes straight from Autometer, the contacted me back. its about time!
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Tempo Forum | Mercury Topaz Forum



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tachometer DDDrewz Ford Escort | Ford Laser | Ford TX3 | Ford Sierra | Mercury Capri 2 11-07-2004 12:00
New Exhaust Ruling in NZ BOON250 Exhaust 32 05-08-2003 20:37
More Hippy Goodness! CPU Tachometer!!! (125k pic) 3Toed The Pub 7 07-24-2002 18:22

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:37.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.