shift light on BA's - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
FPV & Tickford Forum GT, GT-P and all FPV Discussions. Formerly Tickford.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-28-04, 03:25 AM Thread Starter
BLACK PANTHER
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Melbourne
Age: 39
Posts: 383
shift light on BA's

does anyone know if somebody has fitted a shift light to the BA as yet

ORSMXR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-28-04, 05:33 AM
In a blue Galaxy
 
Cobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Geelong, Victoria
Posts: 5,716
Re: shift light on BA's

APS fit them and so do many other places. Mark and rod have them I think.

O.F.R #12
1999 AU XR8
14.594 @ 94.40mph
152.2RWKW (APS dyno)
Switchable Shift Kit, K&N panel filter, Lukey straight thru mufflers, momo gear and steer,
DBA slotted rotors/Bendix ultimate pads (front), Pioneer MP3 head unit and BA XR carpet mats.

Member of the Society Against Stupid SMS Language
Cobra is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-28-04, 08:51 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: sydney
Age: 31
Posts: 2,410
Re: shift light on BA's

I seen a pic of a GT-P with one one the top of the steering colum, about half the size of a 5c peice.

Blown Boss 377rwkw


"Its not the 300rwkw, its the instant V8 torque that kills things"
XRQTOR is offline  
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-29-04, 02:25 AM
Registered User
 
shane3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 548
Re: shift light on BA's

one word, RICE !!!!!!!

Bluprint BA GT 2004 Model - Mods: Tinted Windows, Premium Sound, BBS Mags, 245/35R19 fronts, 285/30R19 rears, BMC POD Filter, SS cold air induction, custom 4" ram air induction kit, More to come..

My Car
shane3 is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-29-04, 03:10 AM
mmm...kilomawatts...aargh
 
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Melb, revenue camera capital
Posts: 1,061
Re: shift light on BA's

Quote:
Originally Posted by shane3
one word, RICE !!!!!!!
For many mods I'd agree with you, but for the guys that really do drag their cars I'd say the light would serve a function and a good one at that. Now if someone who'd never or rarely take their car to the strip were to fit one then I'd also be saying RICE.



Falcon GT Club of Australia

FPV & XR Owner's Club of Victoria

I drive, I vote and I'll go out of my way to see you out of government Mr Bracks. You lied your way into power and you lie to keep it. Enough lies!!! You're out of here!
Steve is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-29-04, 03:13 AM
BOFH
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Giving the finger to speedcams
Age: 45
Posts: 7,777
Re: shift light on BA's

I actually wouldnt mind one on my AU simply for the drags (I often change the auto manually) however they really do look tacky. Only way I'd get one is if someone could intergrate it into the tacho as a led (or number of leds) that sit in the actual tacho itself and are basically black unless they light up. I have never seen anyone do them like that yet but it would look reasonable.


Casper is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-29-04, 03:24 AM
Sex on wheels
 
GTPChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: ACT
Posts: 863
Re: shift light on BA's

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve
For many mods I'd agree with you, but for the guys that really do drag their cars I'd say the light would serve a function and a good one at that. Now if someone who'd never or rarely take their car to the strip were to fit one then I'd also be saying RICE.
one word, AUTO!!!!!!!!

Merc Silver GT-P. Auto, Leather and Premium Sound.
Blueprint XR6 Turbo. Auto, Premium Sound.

Click here to see full size avatar....

Autos are for lazy drivers
GTPChris is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-29-04, 03:28 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 16
Re: shift light on BA's

I had an auto elec. look at fitting one of those progressive 6 led shift lights. He couldn't work it out. The one i had to fit was tiny, only half inch high, two inch across. Was going to sit it on the flat part infront of the dash facia. Would have looked good (very discrete, only the driver would know it was there).
Sunday is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-29-04, 05:25 AM
Rip Up The Track Join OFR
 
XRFPV8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,021
Re: shift light on BA's

i Have a shift light and i have a Auto, using the full manual mode on the track its the only way you get the most out of the car and hopfully not hitting the limiter...the light is about as big as my little finger and sits on a valcro strip can removed simply when not in use..
rod and i both have them conected to our Unichip outlets.
if you dont have a chip there is a shift light that you can buy that plugs into your cigarette lighter it picks up the tacho pulse through the wiring...some of these are expinsive.
i have seen a picture of one of these on BOSSGT car...
we did get a wiring diagram also and the auto elec couldn't find a tacho signal wire to connect it to, its just some sort of relay...






PHANTOM BA XR8 UTE, AUTO, UNICHIP, APS TUNED 229 RWKW ET:13.47.

Rods Rocket, Boss n/a 290 Unichip Tuned by APS et:12.6@110 Mph
We are all inclined to judge ourselves by our ideals; others, by their acts.


XRFPV8 is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-29-04, 05:53 AM Thread Starter
BLACK PANTHER
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Melbourne
Age: 39
Posts: 383
Re: shift light on BA's

Quote:
Originally Posted by XRFPV8
i Have a shift light and i have a Auto, using the full manual mode on the track its the only way you get the most out of the car and hopfully not hitting the limiter...the light is about as big as my little finger and sits on a valcro strip can removed simply when not in use..
rod and i both have them conected to our Unichip outlets.
if you dont have a chip there is a shift light that you can buy that plugs into your cigarette lighter it picks up the tacho pulse through the wiring...some of these are expinsive.
i have seen a picture of one of these on BOSSGT car...
we did get a wiring diagram also and the auto elec couldn't find a tacho signal wire to connect it to, its just some sort of relay...

So what your saying Mark is that i could join the pulse wire to the cig lighter but should be on the neg side yeh
ORSMXR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Australian Ford's Discussion > FPV & Tickford Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how many FF readers does it take to change a light bulb? gt69cortina The Pub 12 04-22-04 07:32 AM
how many forum members does it take to change a light bulb? gm dstroya The Pub 8 12-21-03 11:47 PM
brake fail light eafairmontghia Suspension | Wheels&Tires | Brakes 3 07-01-03 01:01 AM
Posting replies on forums TopGhia The Pub 4 02-28-03 07:24 PM
Interesting story (LONG)!!! xtonkax The Pub 3 01-11-02 09:31 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome