Ford Forums banner

Whining Diff Again

6K views 41 replies 23 participants last post by  Rodderz 
#1 ·
After the long drive from Port Arlington to Heathcote and back to Melbourne, and the FPV drive day i have noticed my diff is whining again !
It was in for its 15,000k service today and the service advisor took it for a spin and confirmed my suspicions.
The original diff whined from day one, this replacement has done about 7,000 k's and has only started to whine in the last week or so.
Why in this day and age with all the technology we have, they cant manufacture quality components ?
I have a pretty good ear for mechanical problems as i am a qualified mechanic, but been out of the game for over 12 years.
How many unsuspecting people are driving their vehicles around with noisey diffs etc... and dont realise it ?
A new diff is on order and will be tested and delivered after christmas, the other replacement took over 5 months to arrive !
All i expect is to have a car that can cruise along at 100k's with out a noise like a mosquito in my ear. Dana must get their act together, they obviously cant build diffs with the correct tolerances, how hard can it be ?

#2 ·
cams290 said:
After the long drive from Port Arlington to Heathcote and back to Melbourne, and the FPV drive day i have noticed my diff is whining again !
It was in for its 15,000k service today and the service advisor took it for a spin and confirmed my suspicions.
The original diff whined from day one, this replacement has done about 7,000 k's and has only started to whine in the last week or so.
Why in this day and age with all the technology we have, they cant manufacture quality components ?
I have a pretty good ear for mechanical problems as i am a qualified mechanic, but been out of the game for over 12 years.
How many unsuspecting people are driving their vehicles around with noisey diffs etc... and dont realise it ?