Amp pre-outs on BA standard stereo - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-12-03, 09:18 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 15
Amp pre-outs on BA standard stereo

Hi

Does anybody know if it has, or if itis possible to add a set of pre-outs to the standard audio system in the BA falcon? I am looking at picking one up shortly and would like to be able to put a small (12" ) sub in the boot.

If it's not possible, what have other people done? Did you use the line level output? Not sure if my amp actually has line level inputs.........

Thanks

Keith

kj@work is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-13-03, 01:25 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: gold coast
Posts: 100
AS STATED IN THREAD ON BA UPGRADE STEROES THERE IS NO PRE OUTS BUT IT IS STILL POSSIBLE TO FIT AMPS AND SUBS BY FITTING LINE CONVERTORS TO SPEAKER CABLES AND THEN AMPS
IAN SCHMIDT is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-13-03, 03:46 AM
V8 XW Ute/APV Kitted EBII
 
ViGiLaNtE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sydney - West - Originally Tas
Posts: 472
If your not confident in disassembling the BA dash...dont do it. the main harness to the back of the stereo ISNT THE SAME AS OTHER MODELS..BE WARNED. We fitted a new Pioneer amp and sub to a BA with the Premium Sound System already in it, and it wasnt any easy process as the harness carries about 50 plus wires. Be sure you tap into the right one for the remote amp turn-on.

ViGiLaNtE

Nothing beats the sound of a V8
ViGiLaNtE is offline  
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-13-03, 10:07 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 15
You wouldn't happen to have a diagram of which is the correct wire for the remote would you?

Keith
kj@work is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-15-03, 02:03 AM
V8 XW Ute/APV Kitted EBII
 
ViGiLaNtE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sydney - West - Originally Tas
Posts: 472
Unfortunately not...Ford were very particular to who they gave out the wiring info to.

Sorry
ViGiLaNtE

Nothing beats the sound of a V8
ViGiLaNtE is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-15-03, 04:22 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 15
So does that mean they gave it to you and you can't say? :)

Did you end up working it out? Or should I not bother and just use a wire off the accessory line?

Keith
kj@work is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-15-03, 07:48 AM
V8 XW Ute/APV Kitted EBII
 
ViGiLaNtE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sydney - West - Originally Tas
Posts: 472
We did work it out..and yes I think we still have it..PM me if you want me to follow it up for you. The hardest bit is the dash removal.

ViGiLaNtE

Nothing beats the sound of a V8
ViGiLaNtE is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-24-03, 05:05 PM
CEO - The BSR Group
 
Mr Sparkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: The sound of 1 cylinder bankï¿
Posts: 4,400
Re: Amp pre-outs on BA standard stereo

Ok just doing some digging, has anyone successfully done this with a base model BA sound system as yet? Very interested to hear!

Now powered by PCOTY WINNING SR20DET - 32% engine weight, 37% capacity, 50% cylinder count
Clicky clicky here for previous ride! I still miss her!
Mr Sparkle is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-25-03, 06:01 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 15
hello peoples. i've recently upgraded my stereo system using the existing icc cd player unit in my ba xr6. i'm running 2 amps - 1 to my splits and one monoblock to the sub. what u will generally find is that there will be some audible note of engine noise (more like increased whistling sound) when u rev hard. this will only occur when the sound volume is turned down as u won;t hear it when da music is loud. my installer have done a couple of ba falcons and there are no way of eliminating the noise - just yet. mind u, in da system, a pair of alpine line level convetors were installed ($70 each) in order to reduce the whistling noise.
thchoo is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-26-03, 03:31 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: gold coast
Posts: 100
Re: Amp pre-outs on BA standard stereo

Noise in the audio system is caused by the altanator all that is required is to put a suppressor on the back of the altanator ihave done this and there is no noise left in the audio now. It is in all ba 's i have driven or sat in.
IAN SCHMIDT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Audio And Security


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BA Falcon Interior Reveal RPO83 Ford Worldwide News 5 09-16-03 06:12 PM
GoAuto tests BA ute FPRXR-6 Ford Ute Forum 2 07-31-03 04:03 PM
Fitting an aftermarket stereo in a BA MICK_EZEKIEL Australian Falcons 9 02-02-03 11:40 PM
mp3/cdrw in BA stereo thompson Australian Falcons 4 11-11-02 09:39 PM
BA Falcon Engine Reveal RPO83 Ford Worldwide News 0 09-04-02 07:27 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome