AU 6 Stack In Dash Stacker - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-17-04, 07:30 PM Thread Starter
FPV Tasmania Member
 
TS50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Tasmania
Age: 58
Posts: 961
AU 6 Stack In Dash Stacker

I have in my T3 TS50 a 6 stack in dash stacker. On the weekend i decided to change all the CDS, I hit the eject button, the frist disk came out, then the second etc
Till i trid to get the 5th disk out, it has obviously only come half way out, or someting, so i cant play and discs, put any in, or eject any. All the CDs were bought CD's , no copied Discs.
The ford dealer here says the need to take the system out of the car, and return t to melbourne, to remove discs,
Does anyone have any other ideas?


2002 Narooma Blue Manual TS50
Sunroof
TS50 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-18-04, 08:20 AM
012
AUTS50 #012
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Melbourne
Age: 17
Posts: 1,001
Re: AU 6 Stack In Dash Stacker

I was going to replace my headunit (no CD) with a series II in-dash stacker unit, untill I spoke to a few people who knew about them. The 6 disc in-dash stacker mechanism in the sII and sIII AU's are apparently a very poorly designed unit and once they start to play up, will continue to break down thereafter.
012 is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-18-04, 02:23 PM Thread Starter
FPV Tasmania Member
 
TS50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Tasmania
Age: 58
Posts: 961
Re: AU 6 Stack In Dash Stacker

ohh great
thanks for the good news
just what i need

2002 Narooma Blue Manual TS50
Sunroof
TS50 is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-18-04, 07:05 PM
012
AUTS50 #012
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Melbourne
Age: 17
Posts: 1,001
Re: AU 6 Stack In Dash Stacker

Quote:
Originally Posted by TS50
ohh great
thanks for the good news
just what i need
Sorry mate, but as I said, I have no first hand experience with the in dash stacker units, as my TS50 only has tape and a 6 stacker in the boot. Only going on what I have been told and what I've heard.

That's exactly how I felt when I heard of the problems these units have, as I wanted to replace my sI headunit with a sII/sIII unit. Maybe other members here will comment on their experiences with the sII and sIII in-dash 6 stacker units to give you a better idea. Anyone?
012 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-19-04, 04:30 AM
.au member
 
back2thefutura's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sthn NSW, AU
Posts: 2,747
Re: AU 6 Stack In Dash Stacker

We have one, and in the 2+ yrs we've had it, it has only stuffed up once, and that was from Dad getting a bit too quick at loading it.

If you can work out where the CD is actually stuck, try getting a flat, dull object (like a small screwdriver) and prying it out. I know that sounds downright stupid, but it worked for us and its left no issues afterwards, just use it to help get the CD moving again and it should be fine.

Failing that, any half decent car radio installer should be able to get it out for you for a minimal fee (if theyre any good, its a 30 second job). Ive seen a guy do it here once and it took him all of 10 seconds - and it was the same problem, disc was stuck.

AUGZMK, do you have any idea if the boot stacker is compatible with the 6 disc in dash unit? I highly doubt it is, but it might be a good way to double your CD capacity .

2002 Focus CL Hatch
too slow..............for now
back2thefutura is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-19-04, 04:44 AM
Registered User
 
FamilyWagonMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Melbourne - outer east
Age: 46
Posts: 22
frown Re: AU 6 Stack In Dash Stacker

This is what happened to me just last week:-

In Dash 6 Stacker - Standard Ford Model.

I was listening to a CD when it went a bit 'funny' skipping and playing fast, then it just stopped.

It wont eject, play, skip or change CD. The radio works fine but will switch back to CD every 30 seconds or so, not play any cd then switch back to radio. (and so on and so on...)


So now on the drive back from the shops a few hours later, i turn off the unit because I am sick of pressing the FM button every 30 seconds, and about 5 mins later it make a wirr and eject a CD (not the one that jammed) !

So I turn the unit back on and to CD and it plays fine. I changed CDs and still fine. I loaded the CD that ejected - played perfectly.

been fine for at least a couple of days now (sigh)



2000 AUII Fairmont - Dual Fuel
FamilyWagonMan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Audio And Security


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
6 Stacker to ef fairmont head unit blueprinted Audio And Security 7 09-02-04 03:02 AM
How to get rid of wrench (service) icon in AU dash HOTDBZ General Tech 21 02-27-04 11:15 PM
EMS has finally got their 8860 on the market :) damage181 Windsor Tech 53 09-10-03 02:20 AM
6 stack CD changer for the AU Futura?? AA111J Audio And Security 4 07-15-03 08:02 AM
GXL dash in a 6 cylinder underpants Inline 6 Tech 7 02-06-03 11:45 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome