BA Head Unit Install - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Audio And Security
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-18-2005, 02:15   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 27
BA Head Unit Install

Hi,

I notice in the latest street machine fords, a BA XR6T with a head unit installed near the lighter socket in front of the Transmission.

I was wondering if anyone had done this, and if so does a DIN size Unit fit without much modification (cutting ).

Thanks
tickfordxr6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-26-2005, 05:29   #2 (permalink)
love the ba's
 
xr6me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: penrith, nsw
Posts: 46
Re: BA Head Unit Install

hey tickfordxr6, i have put a head unit near the cigarette socket, the guys at autobarn did mine for me and they removed the tissue holder completely and made a custom plate with a suede finish and put a few brackets behind it to screw into. nothing major but yea it can be done, any further questions on the install ill be glad to help...
__________________
Why Drive Anything Else, When Theres Ford
xr6me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2005, 22:36   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 27
Re: BA Head Unit Install

Thanks for the reply,

I was wondering if you could tell me if it fits without having to move the lighter ?

Thanks
tickfordxr6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 03:38   #4 (permalink)
love the ba's
 
xr6me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: penrith, nsw
Posts: 46
Re: BA Head Unit Install

im not too sure i think a head deck is a little to big for the top oppening and the bottom opening ull have to cut out the curved part do it can sit straight down sorta thing...!!!
__________________
Why Drive Anything Else, When Theres Ford
xr6me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 20:57   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Danstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 51
Re: BA Head Unit Install

hmm i wanted to know the same thing, cos ive seeen it done b4 also at strathfield.

i want to do it with an Alpine CDA-9853R, cos it says that it is "Steering Wheel Remote Ready" which would be nice to have
__________________


Danstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2005, 04:40   #6 (permalink)
Demeritator
 
cogdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brisbane
Age: 45
Posts: 128
Re: BA Head Unit Install

The lighter has to go, so you need to relocate it. I put an Equaliser in there for now, but it is standard DIN width. It's not hard to make a plate to finish it off from the surrounds that come with most units.

You can do the Alpine steering remote control, but you need an aftermarker converter and these are both a bit pricey ( $150?? ) and tricky to set up. I am guessing on the cost, as ?I asked some time ago at Northfield car sound up here in QLD.
__________________
God bless my work fuel card
cogdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2005, 23:38   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Danstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 51
Re: BA Head Unit Install

Well I've changed my mind on the alpine deck, I've decided i want to go for the JVC KD-AVX1 with 3" built in screen to play dvds.

http://www.jvc.com/Resources/00/00/59/32.JPG

its 1-din so should be sweet to install. gonna get it professionally done so it should be ok
__________________


Danstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2005, 04:13   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: brisbane queensland australia
Age: 30
Posts: 237
Re: BA Head Unit Install

Quote:
Originally Posted by tickfordxr6
Hi,

I notice in the latest street machine fords, a BA XR6T with a head unit installed near the lighter socket in front of the Transmission.

I was wondering if anyone had done this, and if so does a DIN size Unit fit without much modification (cutting ).

Thanks
yes it can be done

had mine done by wow sight and sound
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ba jvc.jpg (55.8 KB, 171 views)
File Type: jpg ba jvc 2.jpg (83.5 KB, 138 views)
File Type: jpg ba jvc 3.jpg (81.5 KB, 180 views)
File Type: jpg ba infinity.jpg (68.7 KB, 126 views)
File Type: jpg ba infinity 4.jpg (93.3 KB, 133 views)
File Type: jpg ba infinity 2.jpg (42.0 KB, 83 views)
File Type: jpg ba infinity 3.jpg (106.0 KB, 108 views)
__________________
own and love
2003 BA falcon xt
purl blue
jvc head unit
infinity amps and speakers
factory sat nav and colour icc
momo wheel and sports shift
ss inductions cold air intake
k&n air filter
xr seats and door trims
xr dash face
18" xr8 alloy wheels

comeing soon

xr body kit and spoiler
(already have just need to get repainted and fitted)

xr head lights

sliver gt stripes
jeffrey2184au is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2005, 07:25   #9 (permalink)
love the ba's
 
xr6me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: penrith, nsw
Posts: 46
Re: BA Head Unit Install

oh it can be done i have it done but i thought u meant in the top tissue compartment, without removing the cig plug...
__________________
Why Drive Anything Else, When Theres Ford
xr6me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2005, 20:50   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Danstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 51
Re: BA Head Unit Install

that looks very nice jeffrey. did you do it yourself or get some1 to do it ?

and also whats with all the wirse sticking out on the side?
__________________


Danstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Audio And Security



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 19:49.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.