CAr Audio Question - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Audio And Security
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2003, 06:07   #1 (permalink)
jjj
Registered User
 
jjj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Qld
Posts: 278
roll CAr Audio Question

Okay i just got a 4ch Amp and 2*12in woofers with enclosure(2nd hand). My cd head unit is a pioneer 4*45Watts and only 2channel. My question is do i just connect up the RCA leads between head unit and Amp and then connect the left front, left rear speaker and left woofer to the left output and the same for the right side. Will this work or do i need to do something else. Will my front speakers blow up because of the amp (still factory ones)????? I don't really want to spend much money and i got a 200w amp wiring kit from supercheap.
jjj is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-09-2003, 07:53   #2 (permalink)
E-Series Cameraman
 
The Goodz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Age: 31
Posts: 1,388
My suggestion is to leave your existing speakers connected to the head unit as they are, and leave your amp just for your subs. Connect the RCA leads to the rear output on your headunit, and at the other end have a 2 x RCA plug to 1 x RCA socket lead (click here), one each for left and right channels, and hook them up into the left and right channels of your amp.

Use the 4 channel amp as a 2 channel amp for your subs by bridging the left channel for the left sub, and bridging the right channel for the right sub. Adjust the settings to suit and away you go.

Hope this made sense...

Alex
The Goodz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2003, 15:13   #3 (permalink)
NZ
feed me hey
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Age: 64
Posts: 4,692
I just had a BILLIANT idea :oo1: How bout You and Steven make a set of guidelines for seting up basic things like this on the web site?
__________________
Dot Aye You
NZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2003, 15:20   #4 (permalink)
jjj
Registered User
 
jjj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Qld
Posts: 278
I had another look at the amp and each 2 channels (1,2 & 3,4) have there own gain control and LPF and HPF. If I bridged the amp would these be used as channel 1 control and channel 2 control. So if i was to just connect to 2channels of the 4channel would it output the full power of the amp or only half. If I bridged the 4ch to 2ch what screw terminals would i use as there is a (pos) and (neg) for each channel. Would i have to strap the outputs on the amp left (ch1 and ch3) and right (ch2 and ch4) so as to make 2pos and 2 neg outputs. At the moment i am a bit lost??
__________________
1997 EL Ford Fairmont.

1 Owner vehicle,
78000km's on the clock (12-1-05),
Showroom condition with all the fairmont goodies,
Metallic Silver.
jjj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2003, 15:55   #5 (permalink)
E-Series Cameraman
 
The Goodz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Age: 31
Posts: 1,388
Firstly, when using a 4 channel amp as a 2 channel for left and right, set both channels EXACTLY the same. If you use just 2 channels of the 4 channel amp, then as far as I know you are only using half the power. But if you bridge channels 1 & 2, and bridge 3 & 4, you'll be using full power. Around the terminals it should indicate which positive and which negative to bridge. If not, then I think it is the 2 furthest apart terminals, negative and positive of course.

So basically, bridge 1&2, and bridge 3&4.

Alex

P.S. Karl, I have been thinking of this, and I'll get onto Steven about it.
The Goodz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2003, 18:11   #6 (permalink)
jjj
Registered User
 
jjj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Qld
Posts: 278
yep i understand now, but for the moment i will give the 2channels ago because i live out in a country town and there are no electronics stores. If it pumps all right then i'll leave it, but if it doesn't I'll try your method. The last bloke who had them had the subs bridged inside the box and had them feeding out of channel 3 on (mono) and his car would rock so i'm thinking it must have 200W per channel as each sub is a (12in*Audiovox 200w) and the amplifier is a Phillips 4040 model.
__________________
1997 EL Ford Fairmont.

1 Owner vehicle,
78000km's on the clock (12-1-05),
Showroom condition with all the fairmont goodies,
Metallic Silver.
jjj is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Audio And Security



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BA Falcon Interior Reveal RPO83 Ford Worldwide News 5 09-16-2003 18:12
why the BA Falcons car audio set-up is an example of fashion over function. falconS Audio And Security 104 02-09-2003 14:37
2003 LS is First Lincoln To Offer THX-Certified Stereo Stacy94PGT Ford Worldwide News 0 07-29-2002 11:39
Another audio question. CATman Audio And Security 4 04-14-2002 12:10
audio question jamesk Audio And Security 1 02-28-2002 05:59

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:13.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.