Looking for AU premium head unit - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Audio And Security
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-27-2004, 09:19   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8
Arrow Looking for AU premium head unit

looking to buy head unit for an AU model falcon. Im after premium head unit
with front loading cd rather than stacker! thanks.
Kruz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-27-2004, 14:32   #2 (permalink)
Jim Mock You Rock
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: sYDNEY
Age: 45
Posts: 1,766
Re: Looking for AU premium head unit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kruz
looking to buy head unit for an AU model falcon. Im after premium head unit
with front loading cd rather than stacker! thanks.
You would be better to get a stacker .a good brand too.The premium head unit when I last checked cost 1300 dollars and I will tell you secret they are next to impossible to remove once you put them in even eith the right keys.I dont know why but I refuse to do radio mute for mobile phones on the premium ford au radio ...my advice is dont do it..
useless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2004, 15:09   #3 (permalink)
RIP Sox.....
 
Soxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sydney
Age: 45
Posts: 2,580
Re: Looking for AU premium head unit

Why would you give that advice useless? The premium unit is quite decent and very easy to remove, like all AU head units.
They can be picked up for approx $300 second hand.

You not living up to your name are you?

Rick.
__________________
4L I6, naturally aspirated producing 173.5rwkw.
14.410 @ 96.49mph with street radials.
What's that?..... Did I hear you say TQE power?
Soxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2004, 22:10   #4 (permalink)
Jim Mock You Rock
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: sYDNEY
Age: 45
Posts: 1,766
Re: Looking for AU premium head unit

Rick a high percentage of the premium radios are a pain to remove while the standard radio is much easier I dont know why but I have had headaches with them before.300 dollars???Where...because I tried to source 1 for a customer and could not get one..1300 dollars from ford

For 300 ok its a good buy .But I have to question the sound quality.I would not personally be happy with it...
useless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2004, 22:20   #5 (permalink)
RIP Sox.....
 
Soxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sydney
Age: 45
Posts: 2,580
Re: Looking for AU premium head unit

I have never encountered one unit which is a pain to remove, they've always come out in a couple of seconds.
$300 from several wreckers.
Sound quality is on par with most CD players, the FR is wideband and flat enough for CD playback. The FM tuner is adequate, not as good as the very best FM tuners, but easy as good as a $300 name brand.

Sure there are better units around, but you will pay more than $600 to do it.

Rick.
__________________
4L I6, naturally aspirated producing 173.5rwkw.
14.410 @ 96.49mph with street radials.
What's that?..... Did I hear you say TQE power?
Soxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2004, 23:21   #6 (permalink)
When 2 T3s are not enough
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NSW
Posts: 1,934
Re: Looking for AU premium head unit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kruz
looking to buy head unit for an AU model falcon. Im after premium head unit
with front loading cd rather than stacker! thanks.
Aint we all....
__________________
TS50 no-125
TE50 no-94
"The TE50 is the best high performance sedan Australia has ever produced"
Street machine Feb 2002
TE50T3 Remember the GTHO? well your getting close.
Motor mag Jan 2002

Wouldn't you love to say that about your car?You loosers
Noboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2004, 00:43   #7 (permalink)
Jim Mock You Rock
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: sYDNEY
Age: 45
Posts: 1,766
Re: Looking for AU premium head unit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soxx
I have never encountered one unit which is a pain to remove, they've always come out in a couple of seconds.
$300 from several wreckers.
Sound quality is on par with most CD players, the FR is wideband and flat enough for CD playback. The FM tuner is adequate, not as good as the very best FM tuners, but easy as good as a $300 name brand.

Sure there are better units around, but you will pay more than $600 to do it.

Rick.
Of the 700 au radios that I have removed the only ones to give me grief were the premium systems.Just to put things into perspective.
So while not all were a problem ..a good amount were just to let you see the volume andnumbers Iam talking about ..thats all...

Like you have done engines Ihave done heaps of stuff like that Rick...soI would never doubt your comments on engines..
useless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2004, 00:58   #8 (permalink)
RIP Sox.....
 
Soxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sydney
Age: 45
Posts: 2,580
Re: Looking for AU premium head unit

Quote:
Originally Posted by useless
Of the 700 au radios that I have removed the only ones to give me grief were the premium systems.Just to put things into perspective.
So while not all were a problem ..a good amount were just to let you see the volume andnumbers Iam talking about ..thats all...
That's fantastic, I'm simply letting you know that I haven't had any problems, and can't for the life of me see how you find it 'next to impossible' to remove.
I can only assume you don't know that much about removing them.
Quote:
Like you have done engines Ihave done heaps of stuff like that Rick...soI would never doubt your comments on engines..
I'm not doubting you've had problems, I'm letting you know that I haven't.
I'm giving my experience to 'Kruz', just like you did, and my experience tells me the AU in dash stacker is a decent unit, one which I would recommend over and above a cheap or factory standard boot stacker.

BTW, I haven't only 'done' engines, I have also been in the audio industry (both car and home) for more than 15 years.

Rick.
__________________
4L I6, naturally aspirated producing 173.5rwkw.
14.410 @ 96.49mph with street radials.
What's that?..... Did I hear you say TQE power?
Soxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2004, 07:08   #9 (permalink)
Jim Mock You Rock
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: sYDNEY
Age: 45
Posts: 1,766
Re: Looking for AU premium head unit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soxx
I can only assume you don't know that much about removing them.




Rick.
Mate I can only assume that you do not know what you are talking about here and I know more about removing them than you or ford for that matter.
The keys for removal are quite simple and straight forward and yes many of them come out in a second...
If I have had bad luck well then thats just my bad luck but before you open your mouth to criticise me you had better realise that you are far from perfect.And if you want to sit here and get cocky well thats great but I did not get to where I am today by sitting by and letting people like you try to belittle me..
stav
useless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2004, 08:56   #10 (permalink)
012
AUTS50 #012
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Melbourne
Age: 15
Posts: 1,001
Re: Looking for AU premium head unit

Anyone know if you can fit the AUII premium headunit to the AUI premium sound equipped cars? Mine has the cassette tape and no CD slot (see pic below). Is it just a plug in job? if not, is it possible for a auto elec to wire it up somehow?

Also, I would like to know why the AUII unit is referred to as a 6 CD in dash stacker? I cannot see where you would fit 6 CD's into the AUII headunit.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ts50-premsound.jpg (35.3 KB, 55 views)
012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Audio And Security



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
6 Stacker to ef fairmont head unit blueprinted Audio And Security 7 09-02-2004 03:02
How/Where to make brackets for head unit? T_Terror Audio And Security 5 08-30-2004 08:58
6stacker to ef head unit blueprinted Interior | Electrical | ECU 2 08-30-2004 03:07
Head unit into EB Fairmont ghia, getting around the amp??? BOSXR8 Interior | Electrical | ECU 2 06-11-2004 05:45
which head unit freshinXR Audio And Security 5 03-01-2004 08:59

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:15.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.