MP3 HU in AUII - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Audio And Security
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-20-2003, 19:36   #1 (permalink)
3FB's Peter Pan!!!
 
XR6HP01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sydney
Age: 34
Posts: 777
MP3 HU in AUII

I recently got to thinking that Id like to upgrade the single disc CD in the XR6 to maybe the premium option with 6 disc in-dash stacker but Ive heard that there can be a few issues with the units and the cost might not justify it.

Then I thought about an MP3 HU but there are a few issues with that as well. Firstly Im not to worried about the remote buttons on the wheel working or not (I hear you can get that wired up anyway for the right $$), then theres the issue of going from a double DIN to a single and putting the filler in the bottom (or top) section thats not used by the HU ( I could go for a Double DIN but that blows out the cost significantly and I dont really want a tape player as well...

So my questions are who has put an MP3 head unit in their car? What brand (Ive looked at Kenwood, JVC and Pioneer)? How Much? What does it look like and most importantly what does it sound like??

Aaron.
__________________
Insert Signature Here!!!
XR6HP01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-20-2003, 20:21   #2 (permalink)
Bourbon powered V8
 
JC-XR8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Canberra, Australia.
Posts: 4,787
Re: MP3 HU in AUII

I had a Pioneer one (DEH-5550-MP) in my EF. Sound and featrues are great etc, but doesn't really help you with fitting in an AU. I have removed it from the EF as I am selling the EF.

BUT, I could be tempted to part with it if you are interested (New they are $599, I paid $470 odd, you could have it for around $350). I have the original box instruction manuals, remote and receipts (just prove it's not hot). Anyway, the offer's there, the rest is up to you.

A link to the Pioneer site is below:
http://www.pioneeraus.com.au/car/cat...h_p5550mp.html
__________________
__________________________


AU1 XR8 Auto 147.9 rwkw (approx 215 fwkw)

AU2 Wagon HAD Auto
17s, Pacemakers, 3" Intake & Pod filter (The Family Hack)

Member of:
FPV-XR Club ACT
AUFalcon.com
ATPS (honorary)

Last edited by JC-XR8; 10-20-2003 at 20:24.
JC-XR8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2003, 21:09   #3 (permalink)
3FB's Peter Pan!!!
 
XR6HP01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sydney
Age: 34
Posts: 777
Re: MP3 HU in AUII

Does the EF have a double or single DIN??? Any Pics of it in the car?
__________________
Insert Signature Here!!!
XR6HP01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2003, 20:15   #4 (permalink)
Bourbon powered V8
 
JC-XR8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Canberra, Australia.
Posts: 4,787
Re: MP3 HU in AUII

It's single DIN. Picture is below:

__________________
__________________________


AU1 XR8 Auto 147.9 rwkw (approx 215 fwkw)

AU2 Wagon HAD Auto
17s, Pacemakers, 3" Intake & Pod filter (The Family Hack)

Member of:
FPV-XR Club ACT
AUFalcon.com
ATPS (honorary)
JC-XR8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2003, 18:10   #5 (permalink)
3FB's Peter Pan!!!
 
XR6HP01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sydney
Age: 34
Posts: 777
Re: MP3 HU in AUII

Anyone one know the part number for the blank you can get to put in the bottom half of the Double din when you fit a single din unit to an AUII?? Price?
__________________
Insert Signature Here!!!
XR6HP01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Audio And Security

Related Reading: MP3 HU in AUII